The Superlap 2010 World Time Attack Challenge has come to an end for another year of high-octane racing, and it has been a clean sweep for the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution which claimed the number one spot in all classes in various states of modification.
- shares

For two days, Sydney’s Eastern Creek International Raceway played host to some of the fastest modified track cars in the world, each battling it out in a race against the clock to see who would be crowned the Time Attack champion.

At the top of the food chain in the Wynn’s Pro Class, the Cyber EVO piloted by ‘Tarzan’ Yamada came from behind to claim a surprise victory after spending most of the weekend in a state of disrepair in the team’s garage.

The Cyber EVO had suffered massive engine failure and was only brought back to life in an eleventh hour stroke of luck when the team from Australia’s Pro-Speed Racing generously donated a display engine which was installed at break-neck pace overnight to get the car back on to track.

It obviously worked, as the next day the Cyber EVO went on to record a blistering lap time of 1:30.587 – eventually tearing its rear wing off down the main straight – which was more than one second faster than the second placed Sierra Sierra EVO driven by David Empringham which recorded a time of 1:31.884.

Just to cement his position as the world’s best time attack pilot, Yamada-san also claims the number three position in his Tomei/Cusco WRX with a time of 1:31.9010, completing the list of podium finishers.

Not far off that pace was Australia’s own Warren Luff in the Prep'd Motorsport Lotus Elise entry which recorded a time of 1:32.273, earning him a gracious position on the podium with ‘Tarzan’ needing only one platform to claim his prize.

In the Open Class, which was dominated with local talent from both drivers and tuners, the Pulse Racing Mitsubishi Evolution driven by Steve Glenney was the clear winner, finishing almost 3.5 seconds clear of the next place winner with a time of 1:36.498 – good enough to earn it ninth place in Open Class!

With veteran tuner Paul Fisher coaxing an incredible 458kW from the stroked 2.3-litre engine, it’s hard to believe the class-winning Pulse Monster Evo was just an empty shell only a month or so ago.

Second place in the Open Class went to the Ultimate Tunes WRX driven by Jason Hart which recorded a best time of 1:39.954 – a faster time than the Fernandez Motorsport Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo entry in Pro Class – with third place going to one of the loudest cars on track: the Insight MS/Elias Auge Honda S2000 driven by John Boston.

In the Clubsprint Class, the Mitsubishi Evolution wrapped up its trifecta with Nicholas Kalis piloting his EVO to victory ahead of the Nissan R35 GT-R of Duncan Forrest by just over half a second.

Well done to the competitors, sponsors and organizers who helped make the Superlap 2010 World Time Attack Challenge a highlight of the Australian motorsport calendar.

[gallery link="file" order="DESC" columns="4" orderby="ID"]