Honda has just released the new 2011 Honda Jazz GLi in Australia. It now comes standard with electronic stability control, while side and curtain airbags are optional. ANCAP has tested the new car and has given it a five-star safety rating, but only when optioned with six airbags.
- shares

It's about time Honda offered stability control with the Honda Jazz, as it's now well and truly a competitive package in the small car market. Unfortunately, like many other cars in this segment - such as the Hyundai i20 - the new Jazz only becomes five-star safe once it is optioned with side and curtain airbags.

Honda does offer a Safety Pack option with the new 2011 GLi model. This includes the six airbags and seatbelt reminders for the front passengers and earns the five-star ANCAP safety rating.

ANCAP said the car handled well in the offset frontal impact test, holding its shape to earn 14.42 out of 16 points. The ANCAP report said there was "a slight risk of serious chest and leg injury for the driver".

The car scored an excellent 15.68 out of 16 in the Euro NCAP side impact test, with ANCAP saying, once again, that there was a slight risk of serious chest and leg injuries. The car then went on to earn a further two points in the optional pole test which brought the car to a five-star safety rating.

The new 2011 model is only available in GLi form while the VTi and VTi-S are still being sold as 2010 models.

Pricing for the 2011 Honda Jazz is as follows:

  • 2011 Honda Jazz GLi (manual) - $17,990
  • 2011 Honda Jazz GLi (auto) - $19,990
  • 2011 Honda Jazz GLi-SP (manual) - $19,949
  • 2011 Honda Jazz GLi-SP (auto) - $21,999

While the existing 2010 model range retails for:

  • 2010 Honda Jazz VTi (manual) - $18,990
  • 2010 Honda Jazz VTi (auto) - $20,990
  • 2010 Honda Jazz VTi-S (manual) - $21,490
  • 2010 Honda Jazz VTi-S (auto) - $23,490

All prices exclude on-road costs and additional charges.