World Car of the Year finalists announced

A field of 10 cars will duke it out for the honours of the 'world's best car'.
- shares

The countdown to the 2021 World Car of the Year (WCOTY) is on with organisers today revealing the top 10 finalists for the overall WCOTY gong as well as the top five finalists in segment categories.

Judged by a panel of 93 international automotive journalists who select the finalists via a secret ballot, the WCOTY is based on independent testing and evaluation of eligible vehicles conducted throughout the year.

To be eligible, a vehicle needs to be all-new as well as being sold into markets on at least two continents.

The final tabulation of votes will be conducted by international accountancy firm KPMG, with the top three contenders in all categories announced on 30 March. The winners of the 2021 WCOTY awards in all categories will be announced on 30 April.

Organisers have confirmed that next year’s WCOTY will feature a new category, with electric vehicles set to vie for the honour of World Electric Vehicle of the Year.

2021 World Car of the Year finalists (in alphabetical order)

  • BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe
  • BMW 4 Series
  • Honda E
  • Kia K5
  • Kia Sorento
  • Mazda MX-30
  • Mercedes-Benz GLA
  • Toyota Yaris
  • Volkswagen ID.4

2021 World Urban Car finalists

  • Honda Jazz
  • Honda E
  • Hyundai i10
  • Hyundai i20
  • Toyota Yaris

2021 World Luxury Car finalists

  • Aston Martin DBX
  • BMW X6
  • Land Rover Defender
  • Mercedes-Benz S-Class
  • Polestar 2

2021 World Performance Car finalists

  • Audi RS Q8
  • BMW M2 CS
  • BMW X5 M and X6 M
  • Porsche 911 Turbo
  • Toyota GR Yaris

2021 World Car Design of the Year finalists

  • Honda E
  • Land Rover Defender
  • Mazda MX-30
  • Polestar 2
  • Porsche 911 Turbo

Recent winners in the WCOTY’s 16-year history include the Kia Telluride (2020), Jaguar I-Pace (2019), Volvo XC60 (2018), Jaguar F-Pace (2017), Mazda MX-5 (2016), and Mercedes-Benz C-Class (2015). The Audi A6 was crowned the first World Car of the Year at the award’s inception in 2005.