Peter Brock is officially Australia’s greatest ever touring car driver, according to a panel of experts including local drivers, officials and members of the media.
- shares

The nine-time Bathurst winner – who was killed in a rally accident in Western Australia in 2006 – is arguably the most well known driver in the country.

Brock won the award ahead of five-time Australian Touring Car Champion (ATCC) and six-time Bathurst winner, Mark Skaife, and four-time Bathurst and touring car champion, Allan Moffat.

Jim Richards, Dick Johnson, Craig Lowndes, Ian Geoghegan, Marcos Ambrose, Norm Beechey and Jamie Whincup rounded out the top 10.

Brock’s haul also included three ATCC wins, and his record could have been even greater had he not raced in a time where many of his wins were not in ATCC or V8 Supercar championships.

The panel selected Brock and the remainder of the top 10 based on their on-track success, their contribution to the past 50 years of local racing, their interaction with fans and media, and their versatility and longevity across touring car events.

Brock was adjudged to meet all the criteria, and his status as a legend of Australian motorsport was qualified by fans after his death, with his funeral broadcast live on every television network and an outpouring of emotion from the public.

Craig Lowndes (sixth) and Jamie Whincup (10


) topped the list of modern-day drivers in Australia, with Jason Bargwanna, Jason Bright, James Courtney, Russell Ingall, Rick and Todd Kelly, Greg Murphy, Steven Richards, Garth Tander and Mark Winterbottom also making the top 50.

Two-time V8 Supercars champion Marcos Ambrose – who now races in NASCAR in the US – was also recognized for his achievements, voted in at position eight.