A sticker swap this week has seen the new 2017 Ford Escape awarded the same five-star ANCAP safety rating held by its predecessor, the Kuga.
- shares

That is to be expected, of course, with the Escape and Kuga separated by little more than a styling makeover, new features and a badge exchange.

Last year, Ford Australia confirmed that its mid-sized SUV would trade in its European 'Kuga' badge for America's Escape name, bringing the benefit of having appeared here already in the 2000s.

No surprise, then, that ANCAP has confirmed the Escape's five-star status, extending the rating awarded to the Kuga in 2013.


Standard safety kit for the Escape includes dual frontal, side chest and side head airbags (curtains) and a driver knee airbag, along with a rear-view camera and reversing sensors.

Autonomous emergency braking is not equipped as standard for any variant, although it can be optioned as part of the $1300 (previously $1600) Ford Driver Assist Technologies pack. The pack is not available with the entry-level Ambiente, however.

Upgrading to the Driver Assist Technologies pack adds:

  • Lane Departure Warning (LDW) with Driver Alert
  • Lane Keeping Assist
  • Auto High Beam
  • Enhanced Active City Stop up to 50km/h (was previously up to 30km/h)
  • Adaptive Cruise with Forward Alert and Enhanced Collision Mitigation
  • BLIS with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (rear cross traffic alert is new)
  • Tyre Pressure Monitoring System