Honda leads industry awards

At the Tokyo Motor Show Honda strengthened its leadership position with the awareness of its dominance of the Japan Car of the Year award.
- shares

The awards began in 1980, since then a Honda model has won the award ten times, more than any other manufacturer. The Civic won four times, the Accord three and two awards for the Fit (Jazz in Australia) the last being 2007-2008.

Honda's commitment to innovation, sustainability and manufacturing excellence give the brand widespread recognition within the industry and motoring journalists. Japan Car of the Year saw the Honda Insight in the top ten contesters for 2009.

Honda Insight Concept

Celebrating 60 years in Japan this year and 40 years in Australia, Honda will be releasing a number of new cars, extending its hybrid range with the Insight and a hybrid sports model based on the CR-Z concept.

Japan Car of the Year award is decided by a board of Japanese automotive journalists. Manufacturers with new or redesigned cars released to the Japanese market between November of the previous year and the end of October of the current year can enter.


Honda's Japanese Car of the Year Awards:

  • 2007–2008 Honda Fit (Jazz)
  • 2004–2005 Honda Legend
  • 2002–2003 Honda Accord
  • 2001–2002 Honda Fit (Jazz)
  • 2000–2001 Honda Civic
  • 1995–1996 Honda Civic
  • 1993–1994 Honda Accord
  • 1991–1992 Honda Civic
  • 1985–1986 Honda Accord
  • 1983–1984 Honda Civic