5-Star safety rating for Toyota Fortuner, Ford Everest, Toyota LandCruiser 200, Volvo XC90, Ford Ranger MkII, Volkswagen Passat, Lexus IS

A quartet of brand-new models have picked up five-star ratings in the latest round of crash safety testing with the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP), while three others have had their top marks renewed.

Ute-based newcomers the Toyota Fortuner and Ford Everest have both received five-star ratings this week, just as both SUVs make their local market debut.

“Five star ratings for both the Toyota Fortuner and Ford Everest demonstrates the increasing safety focus in the off-road SUV marketplace,” Mr Goodwin said.

The big off-roaders are joined in the five-star club by the new and more luxury-focused Volvo XC90, and Volkswagen’s new-generation Passat range.


The mid-sized Lexus IS sedan range has also been awarded again, with all variants - including the new turbo-charged IS 200t - hanging onto its existing five-star score.

“The Volvo XC90 and Lexus IS both have Autonomous Electronic Braking (AEB) fitted as standard across all variants and we urge new car buyers to ask for this potentially life-saving technology when looking for a new vehicle,” Goodwin said.

The Passat is available with autonomous emergency braking, but not as standard equipment across the range. The advanced system is left out of the entry 132TSI variant, but appears as standard in the 132TSI Comfortline and 140TDI Highline models. (Pricing and specs here.)

Rounding out the latest ANCAP results are Toyota’s newly updated LandCruiser 200 Series, which retains its existing five-star rating across the range, and Ford’s facelifted and significantly upgraded Ranger MkII, again declared a five-star offering in all forms.

“It is encouraging to see more 5 star ANCAP safety rated vehicles being released into the Australian and New Zealand markets giving consumers greater choice when buying a new vehicle,” ANCAP Chief Executive Officer James Goodwin said.


Note: a number of the ANCAP scores are based on analysis of tests carried out by sister organisation, Euro NCAP.


Toyota Fortuner (all variants) - 5 stars

Ford Everest (all variants) - 5 stars

Volkswagen Passat (all variants – sedan and wagon) - 5 stars

Ford Ranger MKII (all variants) - 5 stars

Toyota LandCruiser 200 Series (all LC200 variants) - 5 stars

Lexus IS (IS 250, IS350, IS 300h, and IS 200t variants) - 5 stars

Volvo XC90 (all diesel variants) - 5 stars