Audi R8 LMS heads to Nürburgring 24-hour

As the Nürburgring 24-hour race nears, more competitors are emerging to showcase their entries, the latest being four Audi R8 LMS which will be fielded by ABT Sportsline and Phoenix Racing with "factory" support from Audi.
- shares

Each Audi R8 LMS delivers more than 370kW and have so far completed two "test" races as part of the BFGoodrich Endurance Championship on the Nürburgring-Nordschleife and already clinched a podium result in the process.

Teams ABT Sportsline and Phoenix Racing have managed to assemble talented driver squads consisting of five current Audi "factory" drivers, four DTM Champions, four Le Mans winners and five drivers who have won the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring at least once.

"The 24 Hours is not only one of the biggest motorsport events in Germany," says Head of Audi Motorsport Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. "The Nürburgring-Nordschleife is considered one of the world’s toughest and most demanding race tracks. Similar to Sebring for the sports prototypes, it is superbly suited for revealing the final improvement potential of any new race car. This is exactly what we’re planning to do at the 24-hour race before delivering the R8 LMS to customers, starting this fall."

To celebrate the Audi brand’s 100th anniversary, the Team ABT Sportsline Audi R8 LMS will contest the event as car number 100 and wear a unique centenary livery to mark the special occasion.

The Audi teams at the 24-hour race on the Nürburgring:

Audi R8 LMS #97 (ABT Sportsline)
Christian Abt (D)
Jean-François Hemroulle (B)
Pierre Kaffer (D)
Lucas Luhr (D)

Audi R8 LMS #98 (Phoenix Racing)
Marc Basseng (D)
Frank Stippler (D)
Mike Rockenfeller (D)

Audi R8 LMS #99 (Phoenix Racing)
Frank Biela (D)
Marcel Fässler (CH)
Emanuele Pirro (I)
Hans-Joachim Stuck (A)

Audi R8 LMS #100 (ABT Sportsline)
Mattias Ekström (S)
Timo Scheider (D)
Marco Werner (D)

The 37th edition of the ADAC Zurich 24-Hour Race will start on Saturday, May 23.