2011 World Car of the Year finalists announced

The 10 finalists for the 2011 World Car of the Year award have been announced, with premium European offerings dominating the shortlist.
- shares

Listed in alphabetical order, here are the finalists for 2011:

  • Audi A1
  • Audi A8
  • BMW 5 Series
  • BMW X3
  • Jaguar XJ
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee
  • Mercedes-Benz SLS
  • Nissan Leaf
  • Porsche Cayenne
  • Volvo S60/V60

Previous winners include the Volkswagen Polo (2010), Volkswagen Golf (2009), Mazda2 (2008) and Lexus LS460 (2007).

The 10 finalists for the 2011 World Performance Car of the Year were also revealed:

  • Aston Martin Rapide
  • Audi RS5
  • Cadillac CTS-V
  • Ferrari 458 Italia
  • Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera
  • Mercedes-Benz S63/CL63 AMG
  • Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG
  • Porsche 911 GT2 RS
  • Porsche 911 Turbo
  • Renault Megane III/Renault Sport

Audi has won the award in three of the past four years, with the RS4 claiming the prize in 2007 and the R8 clinching it in both 2008 and 2010 (R8 V10).

Six finalists have been shortlisted for the 2011 Green Car of the Year:

  • BMW 320d EfficientDynamics
  • Chevrolet Volt
  • Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  • Mercedes-Benz B-Class F-Cell
  • Nissan Leaf
  • smart electric drive

Past winners include Volkswagen BlueMotion Passat, Golf and Polo (2010), Honda FCX Clarity (2009), BMW 118d EfficientDynamics (2008) and the Mercedes-Benz E320 Bluetec (2007).

The final category is the 2011 World Car Design of the Year, with eight vehicles representing three continents:

  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta
  • Aston Martin Rapide
  • Audi A7
  • Citroen DS3
  • Ferrari 458
  • Honda CR-Z
  • Kia Sportage
  • Nissan Juke

Previous winners of the Design award include the Chevrolet Camaro (2010), Fiat 500 (2009), Audi R8 (2008) and the Audi TT (2007).

In total, 66 motoring journalists and industry experts will rate the vehicles and vote for their favourites.

The top three finalists from each category will be revealed at the Geneva Motor Show in March before the winners are announced at the New York Auto Show on April 21.

Who do you think deserves the awards in the four World Car of the Year categories? Let us know in the comments section below.