• Torquey & economic engine; slick gearbox; tenacious yet comfortable ride
  • Brand obscurity; options pricing; occasional 'A' pillar visibility issues

OUR RATING
7 / 10



Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test

It’s Czech out time from boring family motoring

Model Tested:

  • 2009 Skoda Octavia RS TDI; 2.0-litre, four-cylinder, turbo-diesel; six-speed manual; wagon – $41,990*

Options Available:

  • Metallic Paint $630; Xenon Headlamps $1290; Sunroof $1730; Media Interface Device $240; Foglamps with Cornering Function $240; Alarm $540; Leather Upholstery $2830; Privacy Glass $250; Satellite Navigation $2590; Park Distance Control $490 (Front – Rear Standard)

CarAdvice Rating:

Diesel family wagon. It sounds pretty boring doesn’t it? And were it not for two little letters I’d almost be inclined to agree.

But in adding the RS designation to its Octavia TDI Wagon – and the sporting credentials that follow suit – Skoda has created quite the sleeper, one almost any self-proclaimed, err.. petrol head, would happily see parked in the garage.

Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test

The Octavia is to Skoda in Europe what the Falcon is to Ford, or the Commodore to Holden, here in Australia. It’s bread and butter stuff. High volume, high quality – and in Europe at least – high profile.

But to us who reside Down Under the flourishing Czech brand is one met with doubt. An obscure newcomer in a country hooked on stalwart home grown and Japanese offerings – all of which the Octavia could confidently challenge dollar-for-dollar as one of the best value, most fuel efficient and safe family orientated brands going – expertise backed by the engineering know-how of the world’s number-two car maker, Volkswagen.

So in adding a touch of sporting finesse to this conservative recipe of reputable mid-sized motoring it’s not hard to see why the Octavia RS TDI Wagon is drawing such favourable comment in automotive circles both here and abroad.

Now don’t let the ‘plain Jane’ looks fool you, for despite its conservative approach Skoda’s revised Octavia sees a fresh, more modern take on the boxy wagon stylings familiar to the previous series.

Smoother lines, larger headlamps and classy vertically barred grille give the family hauler a cleaner yet more aggressive look while also bringing all important aerodynamic efficiency down to a slippery 0.31Cd.

Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test

Side turn signals are now incorporated in to the wing mirrors while LED day time running lamps adorn the front air dam above standard front fog lamps for a menacing presence in rear view mirrors.

With such impressive standard amenities as integrated front and rear spoilers, embroided sports seats, alloy pedals and sill covers, dual-zone climate control, cruise control, full-function trip computer, Neptune 18-inch alloy wheels, sports suspension, rear parking sensors, auto wipers, auto dimming mirror, dusk sensing headlamps with height adjustment, punchy single CD tuner with SD card and auxiliary input, and sporty three-spoke leather wrapped steering wheel (with multi-function and paddle shift on DSG variant), the Octavia RS TDI Wagon is very well kitted for the $41,990 list price.

Should however you require a little more gadgetry, an extensive – and somewhat expensive – list of optional equipment is available at an additional charge (see list at top of page).

The Octavia RS TDI Wagon rides on the same 2578mm wheelbase as its sedan counterpart but varies dimensionally in several other areas. Front headroom in both variants is 981mm while rear headroom grows 22mm from 966mm in the sedan to 984mm in the wagon.

Utility also increases some 20 litres from the sedan’s 560 litres cargo capacity, up to 580 (seats up, window height). This generous area can be expanded almost threefold to a caverous 1620 litres with the 60:40 split fold seats folded down.

The cargo bay also comes standard with a retractable cargo blind, cargo net and tie down hooks, as well as a 12-volt power outlet. On top the Octavia RS TDI Wagon is fitted with Satin finished roof rails for additional storage.

Under the bonnet the Octavia RS TDI Wagon features a 125kW turbocharged four-cylinder diesel engine that delivers a cracking 350Nm from just 1750rpm. The result is strong performance via a close ratio six-speed manual gearbox that sees the family hauler tackle to sprint to 100km/h in 8.5 seconds.

Like most turbo-diesels the Octavia RS TDI Wagon does run out of puff a little early in the piece (around 4,400rpm) which can keep you busy on the slick-shifting gearbox during enthusiastic driving but, should you so desire, a six-speed DSG automatic transmission is also available.

Overtaking is a performance drawcard for the diesel powered wagon with its ample torque providing rapid in-gear acceleration, even with a full compliment of passengers and luggage on board.

Not surprisingly fuel economy is also a strong point for the Octavia RS TDI Wagon with a combined figure of 6.8L/100km delivered from our week behind the wheel – an impressive figure given the car’s obvious sports orientation.

But the real upshot to this RS variant of the Octavia TDI Wagon comes not purely in terms of pleasing performance or outstanding fuel economy but in the tenacious handling and direct steering – two attributes certain to win the favour of any family buyer wanting a ‘best of both worlds’ personality from the family car.

It’s not an atom-splitting approach by any means, but for the price – and intended purpose – the Octavia RS TDI Wagon does what few other same-size, same-price offerings can.

Grip is determined with a resolute resolve that seems only to come from front-wheel drive cars of European pedigree while at the same time still managing a well-tuned ride acceptable for the car’s day-to-day duties.

Braking is confident, consistent, with an eager and somewhat firm pedal offering sharp feel from the larger diametre disc brakes. Octavia RS models also pick up red painted calipers in a nod to the car’s sporting prowess.

Not forgetting the brand’s diligent safety credentials Skoda has adorned the Octavia RS with a raft of standard kit that includes dual front, side and curtain airbags; tyre pressure monitoring; electronic stability control with traction control; anti-lock brakes with electronic brake-force distribution; three-point inertia reel seatbelts in all positions with anti-whiplash head restraints; and height adjustable front seatbelts with pyrotechnic pre-tensioners.

Visibility is also very good all round with the possible exception that on the occasional roundabout or sharp turn the ‘A’ pillar can obscure your line of sight. That said it’s not nearly as bad as some I could name.

A capable tourer with budget conscious motoring at heart the Octavia RS TDI Wagon blends all the positives of frugal family motoring with that element of fun so often lacking in this segment, and if you can spare yourself from ticking option boxes, is one wagon certain to keep the whole family happy for many years to come – Dads included!

Ratings:

CarAdvice Overall Rating:
How does it Drive:
How does it Look:
How does it Go:




  Submit an Owner Car Review

SKODA OCTAVIA BREAKDOWN

Skoda Octavia RS Review & Road Test
  • 7
  • 7
  • 7
  • 8
  • 8
  Submit an Owner Car Review


  • Jake02

    *really wants one*
    The exterior is so much better now, not that I have a problem with my 08 RS, but the added aggression is something that was always needed being the performance model. If Skoda Aus gave the normal Octavia the optional 17-inch alloys as standard equipment I think the Octavia would look alot better (and alot less dated – the current 16-inch alloys are so 1980′s). I would like some of those options as standard though (like the ‘corner’ foglamps etc).

    Fantastic car that is one of the best all-rounders on-sale today (its cheap to buy and run, high quality, drives really well, looks good, has acres of space, a massive boot, goes alright and has a very high level of value!) that will one-day sell well. Skoda just needs to find it’s feet first and then they’ll be all good!

    • ABMPSV

      I agree car looks good. I love that blue. We went with this car from Frankfurt to the border of France 4 people in the car speed between 150 and 200 km/h. Average fuel economy was 6.6 L/100km. Not bad. Who needs V8 or V6!?!

      • Jake02

        Wow thats fast AND fuel efficient! Thats why I like VW Group so much, they find a substitute for engine capacity (with smaller and turboed engines) and yet with less waste! :D

        • Jojo

          Still looks dated from most angles and only 4 star safety rating.

          Report Card – “Improvement must must try harder”

          • Car Fanatic

            it’s not a four star rating, those Euro Ncap tests are 5 years old. The vehicle used was a 1.6 litre Octavia sedan which weighed in a paltry 1185 kilos and only had four airbags. This RS is almost 400 kg’s heavier, probably due to strengthening of the chassis and body, so I’d bet my house this Octavia would get 5 stars.

          • Jojo

            Car munufacturers prefer to supply the lightest car to crash within their model range as their is less stress and inertia on the body and chassis. So 400kg more weight isnt going to do it any favours.

  • Chubbs

    Actually think the wagon looks great – compact and really usable monster boot. The interior also looks way better than the japanese offerings to my eyes. The only thing that puts me off is the 4star crash test (despite the reviewers claims re saftey above). 4 stars was fine 5 years ago but now korean and australian entry level cheapies come with 5 star protection it is a bit under-done. The manufacture claims that curtain airbags would lead to 5 star are curious given that the tested car (without curtains) achieved full marks in side-impacts and it was the frontal crash that scored 10/16. It simply needs a stronger saftey cell to mix it with newer competition.

    • Mazdaman

      very disappointing when you read the crash report, up to then it sounded like a great car at an ok price. Particularly when VW itself has raised the bar so high on safety ratings

      I’m obviously biased but i think the Mazda 6 diesel is a better option except for lacking the auto option for the family market.
      Hopefully with the next generation Skoda the technology rolls downhill from Audi/VW and they make the leaps forward Hyundai has with safety.

      • woofy

        The crash report is a little strange, its taken from an old EuroCAP report when they didn’t have curtain airbags, it’s also possibly been retrospectively put under the revised rating system…if you look around other cars that were 5 stars are all now 4 as well.

        • Mazdaman

          You cant have 5 stars without a frontal offset score of 12.5/16.
          The Octavia scores a low 10.73/16, thats barely higher than a Barina or Sonata and should not be acceptable on a family car (or any car) in 2009.
          It must be a very old design and is not on par with the benchmark set by the rest of the VW group. The excellent crash rating for the Skoda Suburb just highlights how poor the score for the Octavia is.

          • Jess

            I wouldn’t worry about frontal as much as being rear ended or side impact. Unless you’re sleeping and can’t drive, avoiding a frontal crash is easier than the rear and side impacts that come out of nowhere. Also if you think a 5 star car is safe then you’re kidding yourself. It’s all marketing and the way the tests are run. Come with me on some accident call outs to these small 5 star rated cars I’ve seen in crashes and you will take the ancap ratings with a grain of salt.

  • NacaYoda

    I like the looks, economy and performance mentioned in this review.
    $2500 for “sat nav”? Does it drive the car for you? It MUST at this price!

    My wife doesn’t drive a manual. No Auto, no sale.

    • Richie

      Octavia RS 2.0TDI Combi DSG is an average $48,500 drive-away

    • zahmad

      That would be VW’s excellent RNS510 with 30GB hard drive…
      …you pay for what you get my friend!

      You can option it with an auto – the DSG!

      • NacaYoda

        Sweeeet. DSG FTW.
        And a top of the line Navman or Garmin or TomTom will be less than half the price of integrated Sat Nav… and is replaceable when new models come out.
        Aftermarket GPS = Thumbs up.

        Now… I need everyone to go out and buy lots of them new, so I can get one cheap in a year or so 2nd hand please :)

        • zahmad

          But the aftermarket sticks out and doesn’t have an excellent 30GB sound system…

      • Simon

        DSG is brilliant………… once the car is rolling. Speed of the mark is woeful. Such is the combination of turbo lag and the computer protecting the gearbox from launch.

  • ABMPSV

    Skoda style is good. Look at Japanese they allways changing because they style looks funny after 1 or 2 years. Porsche 911 was designed many years ago ( maybe late 60′s) and still looks good just like VW Golf.

    • Bazza

      Totally agree. The Japs change designs so often (for instance the Corolla is getting a facelift, due the end of next month, and its only been out like two years) and the Euros don’t. But the Golf annoys me because it has had the same shape as the Golf Mk III! :S

    • demonaz

      What? The Golf has changed a crapload over its life; the Mark IV looks completely different to the Mark V, same with the Mark VI. Needless to say they are all ugly unless in GTI guise.

      I love how people justify ugly cars like the Skoda by criticizing the Japanese manufacturers’ tendency to make their cars look better by evolutionary styling changes.

      • ABMPSV

        Golf basic does not changed. You would not recognize the Corolla today and what was in 1960′s. Simple styling always works. Just look at the new Mazda 3. First comment was about the styling. That car is ugly.

      • Big Oil

        The Japanese are also masters of making their decent looking cars into eye-searing abominations, ie: Subaru.

  • ChineseDriver

    Looks great!!

    Congratulation to Jake02

  • ChineseDriver

    How come there’s no control buttons on the steering wheel?

    That’s a big let down, considering many cheap small cars have those as standard!

    • Will

      Chinese Driver,

      This machine has a performance orientation. I have Octavia wagon Elegance spec that has the controls on the wheel. In real life I find it little more than gimmicky and rarely use it. My old Forester GT MY00 did not come with cruise control and had a crap sound system, however it was an excellent grand tourer.

      Apples for apples…

      • Jake02

        It’s also a reflection on how lazy society has become! Who can’t be bothered to lean down a few inches and press a button on the radio?

        ChineseDriver – I imagine you’d get the DSG? Dw that has the audio controls + paddles!

  • Tim

    Bloody hell, this thing is expensive.

    • Richie

      Ahh you seem to be running out of negatives. I challenge you to find another car that has the same amount of value/fun/performance/space/frugality for the same amount of money. Found one yet?

  • Matt

    Ok – tell me why I would spend $4k more on this than on the Mazda 6 Diesel Wagon?
    Mazda 6 has 11Kw & 50Nm more, does same 0-100 time, uses practically same fuel usage, can tow 300kg more, and only has a fraction less cargo space, and a FULL size spare wheel. Did I mention it is $4k cheaper?

    Please, please – do a proper head to head on these…

    • Jake02

      Because this drives better (I know – I tested both before buying my RS), has more standard kit (like the 1/2 leather/alcantara trim) and alot of stuff you can’t even get on the Mazda (like Global Close – opening/closing the windows from the key – which is very handy especially when letting the hot air out of the car around a minute before getting in, the rain sensor closes the windows automatically, whether the car is off or on, when rain arrives and if you have a sunroof its the same, 18-inch alloys with the sports suspension, European engineering, proper interior plastics/quality, and VW Group’s TDI engine is proven whereas the MZR-CD engine isn’t).

      Skoda > Mazda (but drive them both!)

      • Mazdaman

        I’ll be totally honest I did not bother driving the Octavia before buying the Mazda6, ANY car without 5 star safety simple did not make my short list. I’m sure my kids would be amused by the car doing tricks but their safety if far more important to me.

        • Jake02

          Well that’s a shame. Your single-mindedness has made you miss out on an fantastic family car. The Octavia tested in the Euro-NCAP was a LHD Octavia 1.6 without curtain airbags (eg not a representative of any Skoda sold in Australia) and I’m totally sure that it would get 5 stars (the Aus-spec anyway). Enjoy your 6!

          • Mazdaman

            you can not get 5 stars without a minimum score of 12.5/16 on the frontal offset test, maybe the next model Octavia will pick up their game to modern levels.
            Love my 5 star 6

          • Chubbs

            The reason they test the 1.6 is that it is the cheapest but far more importantly the lightest and so flatters the cars performance in a crash test (all makers do this). A heavier engine in the same car will give a worse result.

            4 stars was very good in 2004 and its only that other manufactures have newer designs that they have leap-frogged it for crash protection. The next generation octavia is bound to get 5 stars as superb and yeti have – and again, curtain airbags will not improve protection in the frontal test.

          • observer

            When you have a family of your own you will understand why Mazdaman bought the 6. I would of as well plus the Mazda doesnt look like it was designed in the mid 90′s loike the Skoda.

    • Mazdaman

      add onto that the superior Mazda resale.
      While its too early for either models resale price to be set in stone, early indications and comparing to the rest of each models ranges, the Skoda look like it will get 55+% resale and the Mazda will return 63+%.
      On $42k thats an additional $3360 loss.

      • Richie

        No-one buys a car based on resale. You don’t buy new, modern cars as investments, therefore it doesn’t matter. And in times like these, it’s not going to matter one bit (because it’s not guaranteed that many will be A) buying a car at all and B) buying used – there are so many good deals offered to try and shift cars)!

        • Simon

          Of course resale is an issue!
          Anyone who doesn’t consider it either has too much money or is hopeless managing it.
          The only other reason it wouldn’t matter is if you planned to drive it til its death, I don’t know anyone that does that.

      • Skoda Convert

        Mazdaman you may be a true devotee of the brand but anyone with a shred of common sense will see that the Skoda brand will come up trumps in 3-4 years time. You can buy a Mazda 6 petrol standard (1980′s technology) 5 speed auto that consumes an average 8.9 litrs/100k. It has more power o paper but is slower 0-100kmh. People are eductaed enough to realise that in 3 years timefor the same money or as you say slighlty less you can opt for the Skoda with a frugal 1.8Turbo engine a 7 speed DSG gearbox that gives you better power transfer with much lower fuel consumption (averages 6.6ltrs in the wagon petrol).

        Also you should be made aware that the new 2009 Octavia has NOT ben crashed tested, the test you are looking at refers to the previous model shape. It is now built on the Golf 5/6 chassis which means it is laser wielded with 128 metres of solid joins, this would mean that when tested they will comfortably meet the highest testing standards as the Yeti did recently (built on the same platform) . Correct me if i am wrong but isn’t mazda still spot wielded like most cars were when manufactured in the 70′s.

        A admire your loyalty to your brand but if you scratch the surface on what Skoda has to offer it will highlight the fact that the Skoda out shines the Mazda equivalent hands down. I look forward to anyone who has physically sen and driven both vehicles to prove me wrong!!

        • Steve

          ^ if you scratch the surface on your Skoda it will probably rust.

          C’mon no flaming it’s just a joke.

          • ABMPSV

            Skoda give you 3-year warranty for paint defects, 12-year warranty for non-rust-through of the body for the New Škoda. What you get for your car?

        • Mazdaman

          blah blah blah blah
          in 3 years your car is still ugly
          but I guess its looks better after if has transformed into a super robot

          ROFL

          it is pointless having an opinion in these comments

    • Simon

      Mazda 10000km service intervals. Octavia 15000.
      Mazda Manual only, Octavia DSG option.

      I agree, for mine the Mazda does seem like a better proposition but isn’t it great we have a few options in this class. Go back 5 years and finding a diesel wagon was uninspiring – there wasn’t much choice.

      • schaggo

        Own a late 08 vRS, bought in Feb 09, just before the facelifted one has been presented. Mine has a 30’000km service interval. Do they only have 15’000 intervals in AUS?

  • Michael

    “ChineseDriver” buttons buttons why do you need more buttons, I think that skoda just making their car more usable just like Apple does for computers.

  • http://carz.com/ Carz

    Nice car. I see a big improvement with this one. It actually looks really good.

  • Toyos

    To be honest I think the only real weakness this car has is elements of the styling. The rear tailights looks terribly dated on both sedan and wagon (more so on the sedan though)… As someone else put it, they both have a 90′s style look to the rear end, also the badge does look pretty rubbish where they integrated into the chrome surround on the front, and whats with the AU1 series ‘waterfall’ vertical grill??. First thing I’d do if I bought one of these cars is change the rims, i think they look pretty crappy actually, they just dont seem to suit the car that much.

  • justin

    Where is the bad frontal crash test that hints at a poor safety cell?
    the euro ncap for the pre-facelifted octavia says:

    “Front impact
    The car’s body suffered minimal deformation. The single-stage tethered airbags and belt pretensioners plus load limiters worked well with the stable structure, keeping loads on the driver’s chest and legs relatively low. However, the driver risked injuries from his knees hitting unforgiving structures located behind the fascia. The footwell suffered little intrusion and control of the pedals in the crash was good.”

    • Mazdaman

      on the ancap site they list the individual scores, the frontal offset is only 10.73/16 and the lower leg is only 1.9/4. All four side impact scores are excellent though 4/4each.
      Read the Skoda Suburb report while you are there, that an impressive safety rating. Its 6 points ahead of the Octavia on 34.75/37, that’s VW standards

    • Chubbs

      4 stars was good 5 years ago when those comments were made – the game has moved forward now and compared with say the latest golf, or even a cruze this is not good enough. Am a bit annoyed by this as I actually love the look (especially as a wagon)and think it is a really great car otherwise…

  • ASL

    I’ve had the standard Octavia for a few test drives, including at home overnight. I was a bit concerned about the styling but it does actually look better in the flesh. I’m going to order an RS when I get home from overseas.

  • Sumodog

    I agree that angular lines of the old model suit this car much better.

  • Aussie Cars

    lol..I have been moderated for a non offensive comment regarding my first post here in the Skoda thread yet the latest Caddy thread is crawling with idiots with no moderation.

  • Sammy

    There are some real bargains at Skoda dealers at the moment, heard of someone who got a brand new 09 RS with DSG for 33 grand driveaway, and dealer demos with only 1000km for 30 grand driveaway.

  • Steve

    The outdated styling is such a turn off.
    When will Skoda realise that it’s a new century and everyone else stopped makeing cars that looked like that years ago.

    • Will

      Still trolling Steve…

      • Steve

        Still pushing your own cause Will.

        It’s my unbiased opinion (and that of others too) and I have a right to express it.

        At least I’m not making comments based on a biased vested interest such as you.

        You have a finacnial interest in promoting the brand, so you comments are worth nought for any interested observer.

        Keep trolling along Will/Tomas79/CarFanatic with your vested interests.

        • Bavarian Missile

          here here……….watch them go off on the Stang story …..

          • Tomas79

            Who you kidding, everyone knows STEVE is just another one of your IDs…
            SO Pathetic!!

          • Steve

            Tomas, STILL wrong.
            Bavarian Missile is in a different state to me.

            Pity we cant time stamp our local time instead of everything being the silly backward non-dls Banana Bender time.

          • Steve

            BTW Tomas, you forgort to change back to Will when you replied.

            Multiple ID’s are your thing Tomas – not everybody needs to invent multiple ID’s to back themselves up.

          • Tomas79

            Who you kidding Bavarian Missile?!!
            You are forgetting trailer park mindset allways shows up though posts!! Regardless of what NICK you happen to use!!

            FYI have never used another nick!

            As my arguments are aways backed up by COLD HARD FACTS!!!

          • Steve

            Tomas, most of your arguments are simply your own opinions, and you are entitled to them, but they rarely have factual support.

            Please don’t be silly to suggest otherwise.

            Your old dirty dawg alter-ego is starting to show through, survey anyone.

          • Tomas79

            Bavarian Missile, i mean STEVE..
            How come there was no “Steve” around durring D!NGO era!!

            Mind you Bavarian Missile, you have been banned several times on this site!!

            Me, never…

          • Steve

            D!NGO, yes I was here during that era, but I MUST change ID’s every so often for personal reasons, however it’s always been one at a time (unlike yourself).

            And yes you have been banned many times, as we all know.

            Some of us post from static ip addresses and would find a ban permanent – never happened to me.

          • Tomas79

            Blunt Liar too!!

          • Steve

            Tomas don’t judge everyone else by your own poor standards.

            I am not BM, have never been BM nor will I ever be BM.

            Nor do even ever expect to meet her given that she lives somewhere in WA and I live in SA.

            Tomas79 has been banned many times.
            I have never had my posts denied from our static IP address. (Someone else out of the thousands here may have outed the address for a while, I don’t know, but I havent experienced it).

          • Tomas79

            Yeah you are BM!!

            And please, show me where I have been banned?

          • Steve

            Tomas stop being a lttle school girl and accept rallity, I AM NOT BM.

          • Steve

            Tomas79 says:
            “FYI have never used another nick!”

            Then says:
            “How come there was no “Steve” around durring my D!NGO era”

            Same writing style, same cr#p spelling, same cr#p opinions and lies.

        • 70′sDatsun

          Yeah Tomas79 CarFanatic, you just gotta look at the posts to see they are the same person trying too hard, or they are 2 blokes who share a 1 bedroom flat and finish each others sentences.

          • Steve

            70′sDatsun,
            Don’t show yourself up to be an idiot like Tomas, who has used many different ID’s over time (and he admitted it a while back that his favourite is no longer allowed).

            BM is from WA and I am in Adelaide, right next door to several GMH suppliers.

            BTW, you must like the Skodas, they have styling similar to your 70′s Datsun.

          • Tomas79

            Another minute, another brand new identity, supporting bavarian missile (what a suprise)!!

            ALL TROLLS SHOULD BE BANNED!!

          • Steve

            YES, please ban that troll

            TOMAS79

            !!!!!!!!

          • Tomas79

            Someone clearly deluded talking to herself!!

        • Bavarian Missile

          Let him go Steve, hes happy in his Skoda world………….He obviously cant see the differences in the way we write or believe there could be so many people against the aged ugly Skoda,forgive him. The Skoda comes from his home Country so he takes it personally when you bag it! Like us Ozzie’s when they run down the local product I guess. I think he’s still upset from the Falcon nailing the Skoda in the big 6 comparo! Sad…………

          • Tomas79

            But given that SKODA sells worldwide more then double the total vehicles(Holden,Ford,Toyota) produced in this country.. I would suggest, rest of the world disagrees with you!!

            Also as you read the Large Car Comparo, the Superb only had it’s value for money going against it!!

          • Tomas79

            Bavarian Missile says:”he Skoda comes from his home Country so he takes it personally when you bag it!”

            I didn’t realize there was a SKODA plant in Australia??
            I knew there was one in New Zealand, but that was decades ago!!

          • Bavarian Missile

            Who cares what the rest of the World thinks,we are discussing what OUR Country thinks of it,apparently not much !

            Stop making excuses for it loosing ………….

          • Deco

            That still doesn’t mena it isn’t ugly.

          • Carfanatic

            Skoda has been here what, 2 Years? How Many Toyota’s were sold in Australia in 1960?

          • Tomas79

            It didn’t loose, but obviously your just trying to inflate the argument!!

            “The Skoda Superb was a massive standout during the comparison. The space on offer, along with the superb (okay, I’ll stop now) drivetrain were undoubtedly one of the best. Unfortunately, the pricing and lack of standard features dragged it down, placing it within a bee’s wing of the Nissan Maxima, which bet it by the closest of margins.”

            The commy lost/failed big time…. Even thought it was locally made, specifically for this market…

          • Tomas79

            3rd position is a podium finish, not a loss…
            And a honorable one, considering it’s lack of value for money is the only thing that went again’t it!!

            6/6 was a miserable LOSS for a locally designed vehicle, that had the latest engine, and no tariffs and other protections going against it!!

    • Tomas79

      I wonder when will the local cars enter the new millennium, and start producing modern looking, well built cars, such as the SKODA range?
      That way they will be able to sell their cars overseas much more successfully, such as the SKODAs!!

      • Sammy

        I thought this Skoda has only 4 star safety, how is that modern?

        • Tomas79

          Sammy,
          “Modern Looking” has little to do with safety rating!!

          • Sammy

            You also said well built, and a $50,000 car which is as safe as a cheap Hyundai Getz is not well built in my book.

      • Steve

        Thanks for your OPINION Tomas.

        The team at CA & Several thousand of Ausralians dissagree each month though.

        • Tomas79

          But given that SKODA sells worldwide more then double the total vehicles(Holden,Ford,Toyota) produced in this country.. I would suggest, rest of the world disagrees with you!!

          Also as you read the Large Car Comparo, the Superb only had it’s value for money going against it!

      • Bavarian Missile

        I wonder how much longer Skoda will survive in Australia,where else have they tried and failed ?

        • Tomas79

          It will survive longer then Government motors thats for sure??
          When are those tariff reductions coming again??

          • Bavarian Missile

            hahaha you’ve been saying that for 12 months Tomas,seems your wrong on that account too!

            Suck it up Tomas !

          • Tomas79

            It only lasted thanks to the charity of the taxpayer!! Let’s see how it goes once the tariffs are reduced??

          • FAcup

            Volkswagen the parent of Skoda accessed the 500 billion euro bailout! fund in Europe last year. So the taxpayers can be thanked for the survival of Skoda too!

          • Tomas79

            Another Hour, another new Identity!!

            Funny Skoda auto was profitable and growing the last few years…

          • Bavarian Missile

            Quote ” Tomas79 says:
            October 19, 2009 at 4:13 pm

            Another Hour, another new Identity!!

            WTF………………So in your mind Tomas, anyone it seems that argues with you is me ??

            Im not Steve,although funnily enough Ive spent the arvo emailing a Steve in SA whos looking at buying my car so thats spooky…..

            You seem to presume and assume when it comes to identities ,yet know all the facts when it comes to Skoda in Australia.,do you have a trust problem ?

          • Sammy

            Volkswagen and Skoda have been one of the biggest recpients of bailout funds in Europe. So this Skoda is taxpayer funded.

        • Captain Nemo

          Bavarian Missile

          How much longer will Skoda survive in Oz?
          not long
          i’m guessing it will go the same way as that other dud in the veedub family Seat.

          • Will

            Skoda is selling more machines than both Alfa Romeo and Fiat. Do your homework if capable.

            Yes, Volkswagen Group has received comparatively nominal funding from the German Government, however Volkswagen is German Company, not an American subsidiary as here.

            Try and get your argument above that of the average twelve year old.

        • Will

          So how much longer is the Holden brand going to last given the parent company is insolvent. At least Oz will not be burdened with the old 2nd grade snake oil that Holden have been pumping for the last three decades.
          Purchasing a product with any relationship to Holden is a very high risk venture indeed.

          • Captain Nemo

            Calling yourself Will today are you Tomas?
            What next Carfanatic tomorrow?

  • Bavarian Missile

    what what what……….explain that to me again ???

  • Tomas79

    Yes, resale in uk, and rest of europe is terrible…
    But there Skoda still archives a comparatively high residual!!

    Which should translate to australia, once the SKODA has been around a bit longer!!

    • Bavarian Missile

      HOW………………….They cant sell them new so who is going to want a second hand one ?

      How much longer ??? I doubt it will be here for that long……..seen how many of the Chinese crappy vehicles they are selling a month, and thats been here for how long? Butt ugly too, but cheap, something the Skoda aint !

      • Tomas79

        Skoda has, due to the great demand in europe, has even problems sourcing vehicles for the australian market!!!

        Skoda’s niche is well built cars at an affordable price!!
        It might not happen overnight, but it will happen!!

        • Jan

          Hi Tomas,
          your comments and tiny details show that you know a lot about cars.
          Just wonder, is it possible to have a chat with you? Topic: About Skoda cars in Australia. (outside of this site full of flaming comments). gmail? hotmail? facebook? Thx Honza

          • Tomas79

            Sure mate, drop me a line at tomas79kv@hotmail.com
            But note, it might take me a while to get back to you…

          • Tomas79

            Hi Jan
            No actually I only know what I read on the internet, but I do have an association with a dealership and a couple of brands

            Just go to your local Skoda dealer and buy the color that you like, doesnt matter what model or you could buy a Yaris or Prado both would suit you and help my job

          • Tomas79

            Honzo,
            Jenom ta prvny zprava je moje!!

          • Tomas79

            Melicouse Imposters

            Please Caradvice Ban the Trolls!!

            PS, getting the gravatars going will make it harder for the trolling imposters!!

          • Tomas79

            Stop it.

            OK Jan was a fake I admit it, but others invent fake ids to support their stories so I can to

        • Jan

          Hi Tomas,
          thanks, I send the email now from my private email.
          Jan
          p.s. I am sure that when you see the address pattern, you will recognize that it is no joke and I am not a fake. I tried to make the address look i the way that only you will understand.H.

          • Sammy

            This site is turning into a Farce, fake conversations between the same person. Pathetic!

          • Steve

            Sammy he’s been doing it for years. Started back in the feral dawg days.

  • Bavarian Missile

    quote “It didn’t loose, but obviously your just trying to inflate the argument!!

    It didnt what ???? loose ??? hahahaha

    Lets re-cap on CAs winner then shall we…….

    ” I can just see the complaints flooding in now.

    “Where’s your credibility CarAdvice, another biased win for Ford!”

    “Get with the times CarAdvice, the taxi shouldn’t be anywhere near this comparison!”

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm sounds like your comments Tomas to a T !

    • Tomas79

      But they are the comments from the ARTICLE itself!!

      Too bad sarcasm never caught on in the trailer park!!

      • Bavarian Missile

        No sh*t Sherlock! That was the point I was making………

        No idea about the trailer thingy, but Im sure you’ve stayed in many a “donger” in your field of work :)

  • Bavarian Missile

    quote “3rd position is a podium finish, not a loss…
    And a honorable one, considering it’s lack of value for money is the only thing that went again’t it!!

    6/6 was a miserable LOSS for a locally designed vehicle, that had the latest engine, and no tariffs and other protections going against it!!

    Didnt know they were racing Tomas and a trophy was passed over,didnt come 1ST though did it as you predicted ………..Just admit it, Ford made in little old Australia that makes how many cars a year ?? beat the Skoda that as you say sells in hundred of thousands around the world .

    Lets not mention how bad the Aurion did for a car made by the largest manufacture in the world shall we ?

    Ford rocks and you love it!

    • jon

      Tool

  • FAcup

    I think SkodaAdvice…. Sorry i meant Caradvice, should do more Skoda reviews, they only do one every week, I think it should be one a day.

  • observer

    Skoda is the new Saab…..outdated styling with quirky attributes…

  • observer

    Skoda is the new Saab…Outdated styling and quirky models…

  • Will

    This machine is a real feather in Skoda’s cap. Developing a totally competent diesel performance machine that is so ideal to the restrictions of contemporary daily motorimg and the inevitable rise in oil prices is a gem.

    The factor that this performance machine can threaten people so much as to give some of the hair brain comments as placed on this blog is yet another feather in the cap.

    Viva Skoda!

    • Steve

      Will, Thanks for your biased, vested interest OPINION.

      Said like the true Skoda salesman you are.

  • observer

    Why are people so unkind….Come on C/A how do you allow this bottom of the barrel posting to continue unabated whilst you delete other non offensive opinions relating to products and reviews whithout the emotional baggage so many of your die hard fanatics dish out?

    Double standard?

  • Jojo

    Jake02 you are a fanatic….Mate you need to find a girlfriend.

  • Jake02

    On resale – the Red Book gives cars their resales so don’t shoot the messenger! BUT Skoda resale has been given an upgrade to 68% after 3 years (which is just VW levels) which gives even more reason to buy one (especially at more than 11% more than Volvo…). :D

  • Macboimark

    Ive recently purchased an Octavia TDI DSG wagon, and i am completely happy with all aspects of it to date. Sure some observers say it looks somewhat outdated and mention the Skoda’s image perceived from the 60′s and 70′s. But in the not too distant future when most of the 00′s bling bling lines of the current crop cars dates i bet the Skoda will not only look better than most but also stand the test of time in the reliability stakes better as well. I dont care what anyone else thinks of my car, or me for driving a Skoda, each to their own, if they want to remain ignorant buy a falodore and enjoy the car until it’s new car warranty is up because after that most will require frequent deep pockets…been there six times before im over it.

  • Amused

    I would just like to say, this was one of the most enjoyable reads I have had in a while! Thank you to all who commented. It was a lazy Sunday afternoon, and I read every single post. It’s fantastic to see how anonymity can remove any inhibitions to bag each other out, and to how quickly a conversation can go so completely off topic.

    Thank you again.

  • tom

    new owner, from day one before we left the show room the sta nav voice does not work, a common problem I think …warning don’t sign delivery acceptance till you check it out cheers…not happy :-(

  • ABMPSV

    Yes I agree. Many cars looks bad on picture but once you see it on the road looks different! I like it much better than many crazy Japanese cars or what about Commodore or Falcon both look very average!!

  • Aussie Cars

    A more modern front and rear lens shape, and bring the front skoda badge above the grill more. Thats all I would change. Front reminds me of the last model nissan pulsar before the Tida. Back lenses look identical to a holden viva wagon

    While saying that its 100 times better than the old one and def not an ugly car anymore

  • Aussie Cars

    Sorry just googled a viva wagon. Not identical but very very similar.
    Octavia`s are a little wider

  • Will

    Aussie cars,
    I consider just superseded model more handsome than the newer model. Go figure…

  • Richie

    lol a V50. Like $10k more? Its defs not 10k more car…and unlike the V50, the RS has lots standard – this alarm you speak of is on my pre-facelift RS wagon and would cost a grand on the V50 (like everything else…)! Very misinformed

  • Tomas79

    Same Idiotic comment, but a new identity !!
    I hope Caradvice will ban the TROLL Permanently!!

  • Wheelnut

    You said it Richie except that its you who is misinformed,read the article……..this “hideousity “is what on road ?????

    Volvo nails this !!!!!!!!!!!! No struts what a joke !!!!!!!!
    Road Test the Rivals:

    * Mazda 6 Diesel Wagon (from $37,940*)
    * Peugeot 308 HDi Touring (from $33,290*)
    * Renault Laguna dCi Estate (from $43,990*)
    * Saab TiD SportCombi (from $50,900*)
    * Volvo V50 D (from $45,950*)

  • Wheelnut

    Instead of calling yourself Tomas79 – may I suggest you change your name to Tom-assumes…..?

  • Jonathon

    Tomas79; please explain?????

    Why am I not allowed an opinion and you are?

    Personally I read often but haven’t posted for over 4 weeks (been on holidays).

    The most frequent “TROLL” on C/A would have to be Tomas79, who seems to have an uninformed biased opion on everthing.

  • Jonathon

    So I would assume then that by your comment that I was right and others have commented on the 1990′s Skoda styling, but thta those comments have been deleted for complying with the code of conduct but not agreeing with C/A biases????????
    Just like this one will, just watch.

  • Richie

    LOL spam word – Volvo

    Wheelnut – Lol you’re not serious right? You think that a lack of gas struts for the bonnet on the RS warrants the V50 being a better car? As Jake02 said above, how lazy has society become? How lazy are you if you can’t hold your own bonnet up and put the stut in place manually than you are a sad individual.

    RS TDI Wagon – $47-48k on-road
    V50D – I would guess around 52-54k on-road (I looked at a C30 T5 before buying my RS and a $42k car went to $50k just with on-roads – ridiculous and unacceptable). Pretty close to the $10k I suggested (but it’s more than $10k if you option it up to the RS’ level of kit)!

  • Bavarian Missile

    Got to be joking right Richie……….

    Volvo is a far superior car than the Skoda and not for the struts ….. who said you would buy it brand new….only idiots pay new car prices……………

    Volvo is a Volvo this is nothing but a parts bin taker from VW and looks it!

    Volvo will be worth something in 5 years Skoda nothing…………..cant sell them new so who wants a second hand one !

  • Wheelnut

    I’m not saying that there are a number of cars that still use the old bar – most of them are small cars which cost $20-25K but when you re paying double that you would expect the car to have a little bit extra wouldn’t you?

    I mean the Skoda has Pneumatic struts to support the tailgate doesn’t it?

    IMHO the bar is unsafe as the slightest bump can bring the bonnet crashing down on your arm back or head so in a way pneumatic struts can be considered to be a safety feature.

  • Tomas79

    No Idiot, your just a troll!!

  • Wheelnut

    Now Tomas – what is it you said again …. whose the one on CA who makes offensive off-topic comments and tries to start Arguements?

  • Carfanatic

    Wake up to yourself Clown, we had Volvo’s on fleet in the UK and they weren’t the best cars around, I’d rather have the Skoda’s. Volvo may have looked Volvo, but alot of their parts came from the Ford Bin.

  • Tomas79

    Sounds like someone is loosing their marbles?!

    Funny that in nearly every UK comparo I have read, SKODA beats the VOLVO!!
    Not to mention the SKODA has a significantly better residual!!

  • Richie

    Missile person –
    YeahNO! You do realise that the V50 is pure Ford Group? Platform = Focus. Styling = S40/C30. Engines/trannys = Focus/Mazda3.

    Service/parts = do NOT get me started. Volvo is no contest for Skoda (I’m not saying that Skoda parts cost significantly less or whatevs but Volvo’s are one of the worst in the industry – I used to own a 940 GLE wagon and I got hit and a bumper was around $1k :O)

    Volvo’s re-sale is very close to Skoda’s. V50 – 57% after 3 years. Octavia Combi – 55% after 3 years. Considering Skoda has been here for only two years (compared to Volvo’s 20 or so years) that is respectable – and it will go up with more people buying them.

  • Wheelnut

    In the same way Skodas may look like Skodas but alot of their parts come from the VAG spare parts bin…so what’s your point?

  • Wheelnut

    Tom-assumes: Are these UK reviews that you have “read” about the Skoda done by the same journalists / magazines / websites which somehow lose their credibility when the results of various comaprisons/reviews that they do involving other cars aren’t the same as what YOU believe they should be?

  • Carfanatic

    And JD Power rates them one of the most reliable European cars, and has done so for the past four or five years.

  • Tomas79

    No!!

  • Wheelnut

    What the..? You gave the resale of the Skoda after 3 years.. then you said that Skoda have only been in Australia for 2 years.. How is that Possible?

  • Carfanatic

    Yes he did, it’s called an industry estimate and if I’m not mistaken industry estimates can be made once a brand is a year old, baring in mind these estimates are quite accurate, let’s see what figure they come up with next year before crucifying people.

  • Deco

    European resale I’m guessing.

    Resale in Australia ia terrible.

  • Carfanatic

    Wheel nut, if you read what Bavarian Missile wrote, you will see what his point is!

  • Carfanatic

    Resale in the UK is worse, count your lucky stars used cars are worth something after 3 years.

  • FrugalOne

    YEAP!

    AND ORPHAN TO BOOT

  • Wheelnut

    Yeah I know; but The Skoda uses as many parts from their parent company VAG as Volvo do from Ford [if not More].

    However; I believe the 5Cyl engine in the Focus XR-5 is from Volvo.. What parts on a Audi or Porsche came from Skoda

    Not only that but the Design of the Volvo is unmiostakeably Volvo [they still have traces of Volvo design from the 70s 80s] whereas this looks more like a cheap Audi knock-off / wannabe

  • Car Fanatic

    I’m not saying they don’t I was just pointing out to Bav that Volvo are not purely Volvo as he so boldly stated.

  • Car Fanatic

    I agree, I’ve done exactly what you said in my younger days, but escaped with only a minor injury

  • 70sDatsun

    Minor Brain Injury going on your comments

  • Bavarian Missile

    he????????????????? WTF ? Ive owned Fords and had a V70 too,didnt see one part in it that I could say was on the BA GT or BF Cobra :)

    Volvo was brilliant quality and a lot more pleasing to the eye than a Skoda……just the word SKODA ,makes you cringe ewwwwwww.

  • Jake02

    I’ve never realised this, but what a SNOB you are!

  • Car Fanatic

    Then park your V70 next the same year model Mondeo and start pulling them apart, then comeback and confirm to me well over 500 identical parts including part numbers. I never mentioned Falcons so stop being a retard.

    Oh and to answer the question about what Skoda parts come from Audi?

    I think you\’ll find the RS engine is identical to the 2.0 in the Audi TT, as was the 1.8 Turbo in the previous Euro model. My neighbour in the UK had a TT 1.8 and was gutted when he saw most of the Engine parts in my SEAT Leon Cupra R had the Audi 4 rings stamped on them.

    Next!

  • PotNkettle

    Jake thats a bit rich – a NOB like you calling someone else a Sob.

  • Jake02

    OH how nice! Nice spelling too…pot calling the kettle black there buddy :P

  • Rsole

    See it’s the foul desrimatory Rsoles like you thta totally destroy what ould otherwise be a good site.
    CA need to watch this stuff, because it limits their audience.
    Jon, sorry Tomas, I see you still think that anyone you dont like is BM – get a life!

  • blah

    Gee, you’re all class hey Jon

  • ABMPSV

    All Audi, Skoda, VW Seat engines come from one Audi engine plant. At the same plant they make the Audi TT and the Audi A3 cabriolet. Engines range from 4 cyl to V12 diesel. In 2008 Audi Hungaria produced 1,900,333 engines.

  • John

    Are you drunk?

Skoda Octavia Specs

1.6 : 1.6L MULTI POINT F/INJ - 6 SP AUTOMATIC TIPTRONIC - UNLEADED PETROL - 4D WAGON
Car Details
Make
SKODA
Model
OCTAVIA
Variant
1.6
Series
1Z MY10
Year
2009
Body Type
4D WAGON
Seats
5
Engine Specifications
Engine Type
MULTI POINT F/INJ
Engine Size
1.6L
Cylinders
INLINE 4
Max. Torque
148Nm @  3800rpm
Max. Power
75kW @  5600rpm
Pwr:Wgt Ratio
50.8W/kg
Bore & Stroke
81x77.4mm
Compression Ratio
10.5
Valve Gear
SINGLE OVERHEAD CAM
Drivetrain Specifications
Transmission
6 SP AUTOMATIC TIPTRONIC
Drive Type
FRONT WHEEL DRIVE
Final Drive Ratio
0
Fuel Specifications
Fuel Type
UNLEADED PETROL
Fuel Tank Capacity
55
Fuel Consumption (Combined)
8.3L / 100km
Weight & Measurement
Kerb Weight
1475
Gross Vehicle Weight
Not Provided
Height
1468mm
Length
4569mm
Width
1769mm
Ground Clearance
140mm
Towing Capacity
Brake:1200  Unbrake:600
Steering & Suspension
Steering Type
RACK & PINION - POWER ASSISTED
Turning Circle
10
Front Rim Size
6.5x15
Rear Rim Size
6.5x15
Front Tyres
205/60 R15
Rear Tyres
205/60 R15
Wheel Base
2578
Front Track
1535
Rear Track
1508
Front Brakes
DISC - VENTILATED
Rear Brakes
DISC
Standard Features
Comfort
Air Conditioning
Control & Handling
15 Inch Alloy Wheels, Electronic Brake Force Distribution, Electronic Stability Program, Traction Control System
Driver
Cruise Control, Leather Steering Wheel, Power Steering, Trip Computer
Entertainment
Radio CD with 8 Speakers
Exterior
Power Mirrors
Interior
Power Windows
Safety
Dual Airbag Package, Anti-lock Braking, Head Airbags, Seatbelts - Pre-tensioners Front Seats, Side Front Air Bags
Security
Central Locking Remote Control, Engine Immobiliser
Optional Features
Comfort
Heated Front Seats, Power Sunroof
Driver
Parking Distance Control, Satellite Navigation
Entertainment
CD with 6 CD Stacker
Exterior
Metallic Paint
Security
Alarm System/Remote Anti Theft
Other
Service Interval
12 months /  20,000 kms
Warranty
36 months /  100,000 kms
VIN Plate Location
8-K-6
Country of Origin
CZECHOSLOVAKIA