Expand Ad

OUR RATING
7 / 10



Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test – why you should buy one


The Hyundai i30 has won more awards than anyone could’ve really imagined, Hyundai’s reputation has had a massive turn around thanks to the i30.

I am not one who is all that fussed about everyday cars, I’d much prefer to drive around in an M3 convertible than a Hyundai i30. However once in a while one of those everyday cars begins to make a lot of sense.

About five years ago, I remember telling anyone who asked me about cars, to avoid buying a Hyundai. Cheap and cheerful – another way of saying cheap and dreadful. The Hyundai i30 has changed all that.

Sometimes it’s hard to break out of your image mould. Companies such as Hyundai, Kia, Volvo and even to some extent, BMW and Mercedes-Benz suffer from a negative brand image.

On the one hand you’ve got car companies that suffer from a poor reliability image, and they range from Kia to Alfa Romeo.

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test

On the other hand you’ve got car companies that make brilliant cars, but owners are generalised as being, as James May would say, ‘cocks’. BMW and Mercedes-Benz are prime examples.

There is no denying that brand persona takes a good deal of time to change. Volvo has suffered from its boring, old-men-in-hats stigma for decades.

So much so that in Swedish, there is an actual saying which politely translates to – ‘another old idiot in a Volvo’. This is a shame as Volvo has been building a variety of brilliant cars for some time now.

Think about it, if you were going to spend $50,000 on a European small-medium car, would you rather a German badge or a Volvo badge that comes with ‘The Stigma’? Even if the Volvo was the better car.

Unfortunately in our brand conscious world, some would rather go with less features just to have the seemingly better brand.

Cars are similar to clothes in some ways. Designer shirts that cost upwards of $300 do pretty much the same job as a shirt from Target for $20, but many of us are still happily pay the $300.

It all comes down to marketing and building a reputation. This is why, then, that I’ve decided to discuss Hyundai and more specifically, the Hyundai i30 automatic diesel.

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test

There has not been another car from a Korean manufacturer that has received so much praise worldwide. The Hyundai i30 is the sort of car you’d expect from the Japanese. It’s very likely that if you replaced the Hyundai badge with a Mazda or Honda one, not many would pick it and sales would undoubtedly increase.

In January of 2009, the Hyundai i30 sold 975, during the same period Toyota Corolla sold 2763, Mazda3 sold 3124, Ford found 1346 new Focus buyers, Honda managed 1216 sales with the Civic and even Volkswagen sold 992 Golfs.

To put that into perspective, the Hyundai i30 outsold the Holden Astra (which is now nearing five years old), by just two cars.

What’s wrong with this picture? Here you’ve got possibly the best car in its class. It has won numerous awards, been heavily promoted Australia wide, has the best warranty of any of the cars listed, yet, it’s not making a significant impact?

Is it ugly? No. Is it lacking features? No. Is it the price? No. Nothing you can throw at the Hyundai i30 would tell you why it’s not selling, except, the brand name.

Hyundai is an interesting brand. So much so that many analysts are predicting the Korean company to be the next Toyota in due course. Not that Toyota plans to give up the throne easily.

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test

In Australia, Hyundai still suffers from a negative brand persona. Out of the 16,628 people who bought a small car (under $40,000) in January this year, only 7.3 per cent decided on the Hyundai (including 240 Elantras).

My aim is to tell you why the Hyundai i30 alone should be near the 10 per cent mark. Firstly, I need you to forget the Hyundai badge. If you have badge prejudice, just try a mental exercise and block it out for the remainder of this article.

Let’s pretend for one minute that you had a choice between the i30, Corolla, Focus, Mazda3 and Astra. No brands, No badges. Not only does the i30 have the longest list of standard features, but it’s available in diesel, with automatic or manual transmission, has one of the best warranties in its class (second only to Mitsubishi) and has been repeatedly shown to outdo its competition in all other ways by a variety of publications and reviewers.

Remember when you were a kid and you had to buy those Nike or Adidas shoes. The Reeboks just wouldn’t cut it! Sure they were more comfortable and cheaper and would’ve probably lasted longer too, but you didn’t want to walk around in Reeboks.

Well guess what? You’re not a kid any more. Allowing brand prejudice to be a factor in your decision making is somewhat childish. Now I am not saying everyone should stop buying cars over $20, 000, but what I am saying is if you’ve got your budget set and you’d rather get less instead of more just because of a badge, it’s time to have a think!

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test

I know what you’re thinking. You are worried your friends and family are going to ask you why you bought a Hyundai? Tell them, because it’s the best in its class, has the most features, uses the least amount of fuel, has won every award in its segment and drives and handles competently.

Let’s stop for one second. The Hyundai i30 diesel with manual gearbox uses 4.7 litres of diesel per 100km (6.0L/100km for the auto), do I have to keep going? The only car in its price bracket that can match that is the upcoming Toyota Prius! That car will be around $10,000 more.

I sat inside the Hyundai i30, plugged in my USB stick, adjusted the stereo and driving position, and for the entire week, I travelled more than 650km on the one single tank – and there was still some fuel left when I handed it back.

If you’re thinking the Mazda3 diesel can match it, think again. Sure, it does 6.0L/100km as well but that’s in manual! The Mazda3 diesel is not available in auto.

I am not going to keep telling you why the i30 is a great car. We have reviewed the car numerous times:

What I am going to tell you is why it’s so important,  especially in these trying times, we must be able to overcome what I like to call “brand-ego”.

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test

If you’re looking at buying a similar car to the i30, it will do you a world of good to summon the courage to visit a Hyundai dealer. In fact you should read a review on every car you’re interested in, all it’s rivals and then go out and drive every single one of them before making a choice.

Even if you don’t end up buying an Hyundai i30, at least you can be more satisfied with your purchase of another car. Ignorance may be bliss for some time, but it’s not a form of satisfaction.

As I said some time ago when I reviewed the Volkswagen Eos, giving praise to a car is significantly more difficult than giving criticism.

Sure, the Hyundai i30 has its faults. Some don’t like the rear, some don’t like the heavy steering, some find the seats a little uncomfortable, but, as a package, the little Hyundai is hard to beat.

The reason I am writing this story is because in the week that I had the Hyundai i30 diesel two friends who had recently bought two of the other cars already mentioned, were taken for a drive in the Hyundai and were a little surprised by the Hyundai i30 package.

To save face they both still held on to the “well, at least mine’s Japanese” mentality, but I could tell, deep inside, they were wondering if they’d made the wrong choice. You don’t have to wonder, just go and test drive one.


  Submit an Owner Car Review

HYUNDAI I30 BREAKDOWN

Hyundai i30 Review & Road Test
  • 7
  • 7
  • 7
  • 7
  • 8
  Submit an Owner Car Review


  • Simon

    This car was driven from Adelaide to Sydney on a single tank. The driver had some fuel left so then drove up to Newcastle. The ecconomy is remarkable. If Hyundai could just lower the premium on the diesel it would go a long way in boosting sales.

  • Robin Graves

    I did the opposite, bought an i30 and didnt test drive the rest. The reviews said it all, and the i30 was exactly what I wanted. Never looked back since.

  • Frontman

    Alborz, the biggest problem I see with Hyundai changing it’s image has been (to date) it’s marketing decision makers.
    Right from the first of January this year they have had a discount campaign running. “No different to the other players!” I hear you say, well there was one slightly major difference. Everybody else was pushing the 08 runout campaigns (as usual) and two of the main players are getting rid of an old model in the lead up to a new / facelift version. Hyundai were discounting ’09 plates (and are still doing so).
    So whilst they continue to advertise as a discount for the sake of discounting type brand they will never be able to lift themselves above the perception of cheap & chearful. Salesman and I discussed this on an earlier thread.
    I actually believe that Hyundai need to stop and look back at Subaru, I see them being now where Subaru was in the late eighties, about when the Liberty first came out. That was when Subaru went from being a quirky alternative Japanese brand to the highly regarded brand they are today.

  • Joe

    Hey Alborz, what the hell was that? It wasn’t a road test. It was barely a review. What it was was you making amends to Hyundai for your previous anti Korean car attitude.
    Is it really your responsibility or even your job, to push people in certain directions. Surely your main responsibility is to present the facts,in an entertaining way, and then let the punters make their own decision.

    As far as the i30 goes, I’m sure that it is a competent little car but if all you want is competent, buy a Corolla. If you want a bit more buy a Focus or Mazda 3. If you don’t know what you want compare a few of them including the i30 and then make up your mind.

    Of course price comes into the equation a lot more in this segment than in many others and maybe Hyundai dealers need to realize, like Mazda and others, that no matter how good your product is money talks!!

  • PROJET – L

    I thought the reason they were discounting 09 models was because there was a worldwide shortage of these cars late last year so they only have current stock.
    As far as Japanese / Korean debate goes there is hardly any difference. The Korean’s took it upon themselves very early on to be better (at least as good) as the Japanese).
    This is a national obsession, due to the way the Japs treated the Korean for the past 600 years.
    I go to Korea a lot and they have come so far in the last 10 years it is something to behold.
    The main difference between these two cultures psyche is the Japanese want to minaturise everything and the Korean excell in MASSIVE constructions. They are probably the best for the price builders of Freight Ships in the world.

  • Frontman

    THis is not a shot at Simon, but his comment is typical of the current mindset out there.

    “If Hyundai could just lower the premium on the diesel it would go a long way in boosting sales.”

    Why is it that, if you have something substantially better, you should have to lower the price?? Why don’t Australians like paying more for better equipment??
    As i said Simon I’m not having a shot at you, because you are speaking for the majority. It is the same with safety packs and ESP etc. Everybody believes they should be on the vehicle, a lot of cars have them as an option yet VERY Very few will pay the $1,000.00 odd for the pack!
    (Sorry for diverting but it does back up the questions put forward by Alborz)

  • SteveH

    Frontman, weren’t Hyundai discounting there 09 spec cars? They would be 08 plated, but are are the 2009 spec models was my understanding. A bit like Subaru release their next years spec around October the previous year.

  • Frontman

    The ads up here were 09 “COMPLIANCED” in January. But currently ’09 stock.
    Project-l, if there was a world wide shortage of the vehicles, then that backs up my comments further. Sales and pricing is a “Supply & Demand” balance. If demand is greater than supply then prices should rise!! Just ask the Oil Companies.

  • ABC

    Two factors why i30 has few followers: (1) crowd followers gravitate towards the more established brands; (2) non-crowd followers prefer something more stylish, rather than something as utilitarian-looking as the i30. The i30 maybe a technological winner, but apparently a strategic failure.

    • Andrew

      After test driving the I30, I love its practical design, It shows some signs of thoughtfulness by the engineers. Anyone who knows me realises that I couldnt give a toss about style since that wont help you a jot when broken down roadside at 1am in the morning. Give me reliability and engineering nous any day.

  • Simon

    Frontman I take your point.
    My brother test drove the petrol I30 and liked it. Problem was the I30 was great, the 2.0L petrol was unremarkable. He was interested in the diesel but couldn’t justify the premium PLUS the on-roads on top. In the end he bought a different brand. Had the pricing been closer it would have been a no-brainer for him.

    Joe, while it did sound like a bit of a promo article and wasn’t really a road test, Alborz is doing the consumer a favor. Encouraging people to consider a brand that has long held a second rate perception which has now come of age is a good thing. Some people may not have seriously considered this car until now, and without good reason.
    While I’m a big fan of the Mazda diesel in this category, it’s pricing is substantially higher and as Alborz indicated, consumption is higher (not surprising considering capacity and output).

  • Jimbo

    Alborz

    “Let’s stop for one second. The i30 diesel with manual gearbox uses 4.7 litres of diesel per 100km (6.0L/100km for the auto), do I have to keep going? The only car in its price bracket that can match that is the upcoming Toyota Prius! That car will be around $10,000 more.”

    Hmm… I assume you are referring to the SLX model you tested at $29K. Generally research helps in these situations. As for a grand or so more you can pick up a Golf 1.9D, 308 1.6D or a C4 1.6D. All of the cars I have just mentioned are in the same price bracket and out perform the Hyundai in economy.

    Are you sure the Hyundai would be a better choice over a Golf or a 308 if you happen to have the extra grand or so? Considering the above cars have better resale and a proven track record!

    If your talking the SX model then thats completely different.

  • http://caradvice onepoppa

    The factor which many are overlooking is the availability of an automatic diesel in the Hyundai. Mazda 3 is manual only, and auto diesel Focus will not be here as a DSG type auto until May, and then only in LX trim.

    So for now it is 4 speed auto Hyundai, better for most drivers than a manual.

    The Hyundai nameplate issue is harder. Skoda are struggling to get brand accaptance, and imagine how many more diesel Mondeos they would sell if it did’t have a blue oval badge on the front.

  • PROJET – L

    Fair call Jimbo,
    but from my experience the Golf (Volkswagen has been the most troublesome car I have owned and I have owned 4)and the Frenchies will be more expensive in parts and service so this needs to be considered as well.
    I am a Europhile when it comes to cars but I can’t stand Korean car bashing when it is unfounded ( not refering to you Jimbo just in general).

  • Jimbo

    PROJET – L,
    Don’t get me wrong, I think the i30 is a brilliant car, but when you start to as $29k for it its just a bit too much. The basic version is a great bargain. In fact the i30SW Diesel with the safety pack will be a big consideration for my next car.
    I currently drive a 207SW and so far I have found the servicing to be quite reasonable but then again mine is a petrol not a diesel.
    Its a shame to hear about your Golf, I have always though they were bullet proof, its good to know for future consideration.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Thanks Alborz,what you are saying is what a lot of us have been on the site for a while ,problem is the die hard Jap lovers wont agree with us,they are entitled to their opinion. Facts dictate otherwise.

    Hyundai have absolutely taken a new approach with their manufacturing over the past 5 years and like Volvos previous old mans car label you mention Hyundai will eventually earn the respect it deserves.

    Those that remember 30 years ago if a product had \”made in Japan \” on it we would look for the local made product instead because Japan hadn\’t developed a reputation for quality just copying,these day its China and we have very little local made product!

  • Tony

    the decision to only allow the manual in the base trim for the CW (wagon) is wrong

    i don’t like autos, especially ancient 4 spd ones

    and they go to $30k for the top of the line… that is a joke

  • Mick

    I have to agree with Simon and BM on this one, the article does sound a little like it was a Hyundai press release but then it is only saying what needs to be said. Look back at the mid-late 90s Hyundai cars were throw aways, drive them for 3 years and throw them away as they were absolute junk after that. But rather than keeping their quality like this Hyundai have invested the money and improved quality and started to make a good name for themselves rather than the one they used to have.

    Prime example is the Genesis in the US, they love that car and it has built a following in the tuner market which the Japanese cars have ruled in for years and years. Unfortunate we will not see it in Australia any time soon though.

    Good luck to Hyundai/Kia, I’m sure there are some people sitting in Toyota HQ starting to look over their shoulders.

  • HAL

    ^ BM (and all others who support the Korean brands): the argument FOR the Korean cars always comes back to the statement, “remember that the Japanese car makers had to earn their reputations. Have a look at Subaru from the 80′s and Subaru now.”

    Fair enough, but let’s just remember that these companies had to do exactly that, EARN the respect and sway the public over time. People just didn’t start ‘trusting’ the Japanese brands simply because they were told to. The likes of Subaru, for example, actually had to do the hard work and start offering, extremely high quality, affordable, attractive and sought after models with consistency. As they did with the Liberty which got them moving in the right direction.

    Consumers are smarter than that – Honda is another example. They virtually lifted themselves from a lawnmower engine builder to a brand that is recognised as being almost the premium Japanese car maker, and considered alongside some of the European marques when luxury car buyers go shopping. My point, again, they had to do the hard work over time and establish a good selection of models, that performed best in class, were built to a quality that was previously unmatched in the Asian car makers, and they did so consistently.

    Kia/Hyundai need to shoot beyond being a ‘decent’ alternative in the smaller car segment, and start offering class leading and DESIRABLE designs in all segments backed up by build quality and performance, consistently over a number of years. To date they have not done this – sure there may have been a good model here and there, but nothing inspiring. And let’s not forget the most important poinj – they are also still paying the price for the shockingly disappointing Excel – say what you like about the current offerings they have available, but that sort of legacy takes a long time to change.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Agreed Hal,but Hyundai are winning awards have been for a few years now. As far as Luxury and Performance they are just trying to enter that market now,the Genius is already an award winning car and with the new Genius Coupe {rumored} will be the cheapest 300hp RWD available in the world.

    They are making head way and faster than the Japs did.

  • HAL

    ^ yeah BM, and that is another thing that the Salesman always talks about. Have a look at this model they have done, and that one. But none of them are available here. We seem to get the average, run-of-the-mill daily drivers, nothing at all inspiring. We are talking here about the Aussie public’s perception of Hyundai & Kia, so why would they rely on models they have won awards for overseas to improve their reputations here? If they have won awards etc for the Genesis coupe, then they should bring it here, now.

    I don’t particularly dislike the Korean cars, but they just don’t make anything desriable, inspiring…whatever adjective you want to use.

    And I would argue that they are making headway faster than the Japs did – the Excel first came out in the late 80′s/ early nineties if I rememeber correctly? That is now almost 20 years ago. From Honda’s humble beginnings in Australia in the early 70′s, I seem to remember they were firmly entrenched as a maker of desirable, class-leading cars by the late 80′s/early nineties. Same time period, different level of success I reckon.

  • Lukaas

    I can tell you why Hyundai and Kia do not get respected much, or talked about… in fact its generally perceived as “cheapos” car choice.

    Because they are.

    You can test drive it, do an hour driving it around.
    Sure.

    but in the end, engineering wise (and that means durability, design structure) and to relate that to customers.. basically the chance of that car messing up.. is generally higher than the proven manufacturers.

    Hyundai can make a profit because they choose to select material and design structures that are cheapest to produce.

    Taking away Australia as a benchmark for pricing.. as Toyota, Mazda, Honda are very very pricey over here. USA… compare the prices per features against all cars.
    People point out Hyundai and Kia as being ‘cheaper’ while having similar features as the rest…. thats because somewhere their have been a compromise…

    Hyundai isnt here to provide you cheaper price for the sake of making you happy. Its because they want to capture market, Hyundai has been getting bigger every year.. and you think they do this by not making a profit..???

    bottomline… there is a compromise somewhere…. all manufacturers do it… I’ve tore down cars to compare structures and other “hidden” things that overall affect quality… and Hyundai isnt even considered on the same par as the rest….

    They have improved… but still…. sorry nope..

    I do like the i30… it looks good and has good features. But knowing Hyundai’s engineering structures I know… that it isnt as “good” as the others who are more expensive.

    But hey if its good enough for your needs then feel free..

    • Mao

      Lukaas, you really do not know about cars engineering, right? Because if you knew, you would not write something like this. You have no proof – it is pure theory and emotions you use… It’s old thinking you have and the times has changed. Korean cars are becoming serious quality and value threat for all other brands. I30 is the best example and it all will just go further…

  • Dan

    I agree with HAL. SO far all the Koreans sell here are cheap and uninspiring econoboxes. Some people here back them up by claiming about some awards given to some model no one in Australia knows about. The fact is, their reputation over here will not improve and move on from the cheap budget brand that they are, to anything better until all those supposedly brilliant cars they are apparently making are sold here. For now your average Joe Blow enters a Korean car dealership, and sees nothing but cheap uninspiring mode of transport. Added to the shocking reputation for lack of long term durability (ie. good old Excel), it is no surprise their reputation is the way it is. Hence it is no surprise people would spend extra on a more expensive car in the same class, if they can afford it.

  • Milsie

    Totally agree, people need to physically visit a Hyundai (or Kia) showroom and actually drive their cars…

    When you buy a new TV, one of the preferred choices is Samsung or LG (both Korean brands) because they offer superior value for money and are usually better than the rest plain and simple – the same now applies to Korean vehicles.

    I purchased my new Hyundai about a year ago and I haven’t had a single issue or problem. I wish I could say the same for the Japanese brands I have owned, but I can’t…

    I’ve had 1 Honda & 3 Mazdas & can confidently say that Hyundai after sales service is also the best in business.

    My next car will be Korean.

  • http://skyline The Salesman

    Interesting comments. My opinion is you if you want to succeed in distributing your product globally you will want to make sure you make a good product that customers will buy again and again. There is no such thing as a bad car. I don’t care what it is or were it is from. If it is mass produced I know thousands of engineers spent countless hours designing it, testing and re designing to the smallest and seemingly minuscule detail. I know it has been put through every possible extreme, broken, fixed and then pushed further again. I know I could never expect to push that car to the limits it has been tested at even after decades of driving. Some customers want or even need to pay a premium to feel they made the right choice. Some customers see value as the biggest buying motive and Hyundai / Kia fill this market with products that, by more than one opinion, are at world standards and can be argued in some cases even better than world standards. So what’s wrong with any car company that wants to earn you business again and again?

  • Bavarian Missile

    Sorry Hal I didnt realise we were talking about Hyundai in Australia and its perception by the local consumer .

    Daily run of the mill cars arent that inspiring anyway,I mean I sat in the Corolla and the Hyundai I30 at the last Motor show here in Perth ,Golfy and I both thought as a run about the Hyundai was just a good a car as the Corolla finish wise {plus the Hyundai Stand had knobs and anything that unscrewed still on the car,which was more than the Corolla had we sat in}:)

    I guess we will have to disagree on the blandness issue,there are plenty of white good manufacturers in Japan too .

    In regard to bringing the Genesis over here,we can hope it happens especially the Coupe. I guess like most manufactures we are still a little fish in a big pond and Hyundai are after the big numbers of sale,hence why the US get the good stuff most of the time.

  • “James”

    My parents were in a position last year where they wanted to buy a new car. Being an owner of an older hyundai (accent) the choices were a ford focus, i30(SR model) and a mazda sp23. We initially leaned towards the i30 SR purely on brand loyalty and the list of features on the top of the line “sports” model. Problem was that the SP23 had almost similar features, wrapped in a better looking design, a better handling chassis, and a better performing engine. The interior of the SP23 was also slightly better.

    Now sure, the car can be great and the deisel engine an absolute belter, but when the price of a i30 SR is the same as a SP23, it’s difficult to justify the i30 over the mazda. When logic and rational decisions cannot be made because the list of options are so similar in these two cars, then people will make the emotional decision and go for the nicer, or more “brand reputable” car.

    the i30 SR looks pretty good in the flesh, but it just doesn’t look good ENOUGH yet. Hyundai’s designs are getting there, but they still have some wonky Korean design elements to them that the majority of Australian consumers, used to the european and Japanese designs just do not warm to. (with exception to the current Sante fe, and upcoming small recretional 4wd shown in the Geneva motor show this year).

    A cars design is to some extent an extension of your personality, and an expression of you, the same can’t be said for options lists. Designs make or break cars, option lists in most cases for cars above or at $30k don’t…as much.

  • Dan

    LOL! Don’t get ahead of yourself there salesman. Above world standards… yep, sure… Somehow, at a fraction of the cost, they can build cars which you claim are better than the rest of the cars in the world? You should make your sales pitch a bit more subtle mate. No wonder I never trust what car salesmen tell you…

  • HAL

    Salesman, that’s fine if that’s ALL that Kia/Hyundai want to be known for. But it’s not, and it’s the very point of this article – why don’t the public seem to ‘want’ a hyundai/Kia over alternative brands i.e. why aren’t they simply the first choice of the consumer like other brands are? IMO it’s due to the reasons I stated above.

    Imagine if they released a Genesis coupe in Oz, and it was a brilliant, engaging, ‘bring a smile to your face’ driving car, with an interior that was sleek, beautifully designed and crafted, could kick the arse out of most performance cars and never spent anytime in the workshop other than for it’s scheduled services? And then they did it again with another offering, say in the luxury segment. And again etc. What a difference that would make to the overall perception of these car makers across all segments. That is how the Hondas and Subarus made the difference, not by banging away offering uninspiring econoboxes in the small to mid car segment saying, “Look how good we are now!”

    It’s too easy for people to label people with my opinions badge snobs, but that’s really got nothing to do with it. They should just build some cool cars with the reliability to back them up, and things will change once and for all.

  • Tony

    this is a doubled edged sword though

    who the hell is gonna buy a $50-$60k Genesis coupe and sedan in this climate?

    YOU? I doubt it. Whichever way it is, it’s a losing game for them.

    You say you won’t buy their cheap cars so why would you buy their aspirational cars? When you buy a Mazda 2 do you care about the excreble Mazda RX8? Is there a ‘halo effect’ as some people say? More to the point do the people who buy an Astra or a Korean Captiva really care about the SS-V as some kind of ‘hero’ car?

    Also I think it comes down to this… no matter which way you cut it, Australia is a tiny little market not worthy of much attention.

    1 million cars in a good year? What’s that? A small percentage of California or greater NY State?

    The are spending the dollars to advertise in during the Superbowl where it really matters.

    I also see a lot of ‘insider’ talk in that people who are mechanics and the like say their cars are lesser engineered but I have yet to see any hard evidence to this. After driving a tinny Mazda 2 I wonder just exactly where they cut corners there.

    btw. you can actually read reviews and see pictures where Mazda, Nissan, Toyota etc. have cut corners on their current models but I have yet to see the same for Hyundai or Kia.

    If they were so poorly engineered would they get a 5 star NCAP otherwise? I think they fall back to the old Excel losing control arms and think that’s what the situation is today…

    Or is it some huge conspiracy where all the independenbt test labs, car sites and print media have been given free kimchee? I wonder.

    Or is it a bunch of prejudiced bigots who used to suck on the collective member of Holden and Ford and are now misguided Jap-o-files?

    Occam’s razor and all who do you believe?

  • HAL

    ^ BM, no worries. Don’t get me wrong, I WANT the Kias and Hyundais to succeed, means more choice for me and more competition. I just don’t think they are where they say they are yet, and won’t be until they start delivering some good ‘uns.

  • http://www.caradvice.com.au/ alborz

    Thanks for all the comments guys. Yes this is a different type of review, the i30 has been shown to be essentially the best car in its class so I wanted to go into some more detail and approach it from a different perspective. Obviously I expected a few comments saying “how much did they pay you etc” because you always get that when you say something good about a car.

    My only aim here is to get those in the market for a car like this, to actually go out there and drive it, even if you don’t buy it in the end, just go and drive it!

  • HAL

    Geez Tony, settle down mate. Anyone would think you’ve got shares in Hyundai the way you’re defending them.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Oi Alborz you watching this post………..poke poke !

    Obviously Alborz’s view on Hyundais hasnt meant anything ,but hey whos he to say whats what in the car world.;)

    I mean he and the other writers on this site have DRIVEN the best cars in the world.Go figure !

  • Bavarian Missile

    Seems you are ,dont go to far babe……..

  • runnaln

    Australians pay a far higher premiium for deisal versions of cars, than other markets do, just look at prices in UK http://www.hyundai.co.uk/newCars/i30/prices/

    Salesman can you justify this, its the same we pay much more for the snop value of Audi, Mercedes and BMW than europe do.

  • Tony

    no HAL, I’m interested in facts. If you make a contentious remark, be prepared to back it up.

    I have no love for Hyundai at all. My family runs, two Mercs, two Fords, a Nissan and a Kia.

    I quite literally get more grief from Mercedes and especially Ford than the Kia representatives.

    It will be a cold day in hell before I drive a Hyundai because there is really nothing that suits my needs.

    I’m one of those people who likes clever designs. I like the Toyota Aygos and IQs and yes, even the Cerato even though that’s a result of German influence than anything else.

    I despise people who toss out lines like ‘poorly engineered’ and make themselves out to be experts yet proffer no evidence to their remarks.

    I could care less what people think… I’m no friend of yours and am not here to be your buddy or make myself ‘popular’.

    I’ll put it out there… there’s one car that is superior to the i30 in every respect and was available for $21,990 not long ago… the Ford Focus TDCi… no auto though which disadvantages people who can’t drive.

    Am I a shareholder in Ford? Hardly, I have two of the things and I hate Ford inspite of their quite ok cars.

  • Ravith

    What a timely article for me.
    I am tossed between many cars, i30 is one of them.
    Test drove i30 petrol SX and found no fault, except that it lacked few small but important (to me) features.

    No cruise control: Deakler said they could fit aftermarket one – for $950. Expensive option.

    Protecz pack is OK, as it can be factory fitted.
    But add them and even the base model becomes >$ 24000 WITH current driveaway bonanza.

    Subaru Impreza is being given away for 24990 (until last Monday – at the motor show, possibly that bargain is there still). Yes a bit thirstier and 3 year warranty – but you get 4WD, and all the safety that i30 boasts.

    So my point is Hyundai is not cheap. The biggest expense in a car is its depreciation – and until now Impreza holds better than i30.

    I was about to put a deposit – but I stopped to see more.

  • HAL

    Tony, I don’t believe I uttered the words ‘poorly engineered’ in any of my comments above. I have repeatedly stressed I am talking about Hyundai/Kia from mainly a ‘desirability’ perspective, and that is different for one person to the next, hence the word, opinion.

    And can you explain where any of my comments could be considered remotely ‘contentious? I am merely stating my opinion (again, stressed several times that they are simply my opinions), which I thought was the basic premise of the blog commentary on these articles.

    And please, although you say you aren’t here to make friends or buddies with anyone, the Code of Conduct requires you to at least be respectful to your fellow commenters, which is the least you should be able to expect.

  • http://www.caradvice.com.au/ alborz

    Ravith, the Impreza is a great car (I own one! Though it’s not very fuel economical :) ) – but the diesel i30 is what makes the most sense.

    Out of curiosity what were the features the i30 lacked?

  • boosta

    Any reviews for the i30 CW (cross-wagon) soon?

  • http://skyline The Salesman

    runnaln,
    Australia simply does not have the volume of sales to justify a lower price.

  • http://www.caradvice.com.au/ alborz

    Boosta, our editor is at the official Australia launch of the CW right now. Expect the first steer tomorrow.

  • Tim

    This is a great car, looks great, drives well, fantastic interior.

    Dan, turn off the Samsung TV (Its Korean – no way!!), hop into the IS250 and go to a Hyundai dealership for a test drive. Then come back and state your ‘facts’. Cheap and cheerful was 5 years ago mate.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Hey Salesman is there news on the Genesis coming to Australia.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xKfU_5jgupo

    hahaha Seems they still didnt get the name right did they ?

  • Dan

    Have I said I have a problem with Korean TV\’s? You\’ll find some countries are good at making certain products, and not so good at making others. That goes for cars as well.

    I actually drove a rental Hyundai or Kia (meh can\’t remember what it was now, that\’s all that was available at the time) couple of months ago. Ummm, no thanks Tim! I’ll try to avoid them next time if I can.

  • Frontman

    So far this has been a very interesting thread. Supporting (no not sucking up to ;-)) Alborz, whilst most respondents on CA probably wouldn’t look at Hyundai because we are “Car fanatics / tragics” and they, at present, don’t offer a true drivers styled car, we shouldn’t bag them to our peers.
    Over 70% of vehicles sold in this country are sold as a means of transport. They need to make the buyer feel good, look good and be low on running costs. As far as looks go that’s a personal thing, so shouldn’t come into it. As to the rest of the equations, then Hyundai & Kia are definately able to fit the bill.
    Why do people believe that a Japanese car built in Taiwan or Thailand is superior in quality to one built in Korea? If Thailand produced it’s own brand I’d put money on it that people would group it with Proton, but Honda’s or Hilux’s from there are good!
    I laughed when a print magazine bagged a Daewoo’s 2.2l 4cyl yet waxed lyrically about the same motor in a Vectra, Same motor built on the same line in Australia using same ECU & gearbox somehow deteriorated between Melbourne & Ulsan?

  • runnaln

    I am not sure that is justification, makes little difference in the factory, I suspect I30 sells far more diesel than Petrol, and if they fixed the diffrence maybe they would sell a lot more.

  • Technofreak

    Would never waste money on a Hundai again….did it once and after 3years it self destructed…..don’t you think its funny that there are not many Excels on the road anymore??

  • Simon

    Dan said:
    “I actually drove a rental Hyundai or Kia (meh can\’t remember what it was now, that\’s all that was available at the time) couple of months ago. Ummm, no thanks Tim! I’ll try to avoid them next time if I can.”

    Your ignorance beggars belief! If you can’t tell the difference between a kia and a hyundai, your comments and opinions are obviously invalid.
    To be honest, I didn’t think you were old enough to hold a licence given the nature of your abrasive posts.
    Yes this post will be removed, but heck – it’s worth calling a spade a spade!

  • Simon

    Technofreak, good point. But how many other $15000 cars (new) that are over 10 years old do you see on the road?
    Excels seemed to have lots of problems, but a family member had an excel (95) with over 300K on the clock. Nothing mechanical had broken, it was the interior that started to fall apart!

  • Dan

    Simon said – “Your ignorance beggars belief! If you can’t tell the difference between a kia and a hyundai, your comments and opinions are obviously invalid.”

    Oh, I knew what I was driving (Getz, if you really have to know). I said it that way to express the lack of excitement and passion in that vehicle, but also the cheapness, low quality and lack of class as well. I guess it took me from a to b. But not much else.

    • crystall

      u realise that he is referring to the i30 which is a very very different car to the getz if you think that they are both in the same league than your stupider than you though

  • Dan

    Simon said – “But how many other $15000 cars (new) that are over 10 years old do you see on the road?”

    I see plenty. Most don’t even have rust yet, for which same can’t be said about the Xcel. Not to mention that they’re falling apart.

  • Alex

    But it isn’t best in class is it? That would be the Focus. Why does the Focus get so overlooked in Australia? It has good build quality, good reliability, it’s great fun and it’s about as cheap as the rest. It’s no beauty but it is a great car.

    • Paul

      Focus doesn’t have a proper spare wheel. That’s a dealbreaker for me
      when I replace my 9 year old Accent early next year.
      So i30, i20, and Corolla are the only options.

    • Yonny

      Focus has good build quality!! What planet was YOUR Focus built on? Or are you perhaps talking about the Euro-built Focus and not the craptacular South African-built Focus?

      • HyundaiSmoke

        LMAO@ yeah the Mexican ones we get in the States are just as craptacular too. These i30s are a savior.

  • Tomas79

    Alex, What makes the Focus best in class??
    Got to say, the i30 looks like a decent package, and quite a few of my mates are thinking of getting one..

  • Maneesh

    Nice work Alborz…but people who suffer from brand-prejudice, will not have read this article….! because this article’s title says “Hyundai i30 Review”.

    Instead, CarAdvice.com.au should do a comparison review: Corolla v i30 v Swift v Focus. So those thinking of buying a Corolla can see how good the i30 really is!

    • HyundaiSmoke

      Those cars would get Nuked in a Review. The i30 is a better car by far. They need to compare it to real cars like Mazda 3 or Impreza hatch.

      • biggie

        we know which is a better buy with steering problems with Corolla now.

  • phillip

    No doubt this is a great car, and Hyundai should be credited for advancing as much as they have. However, there is something about the i30 that screams derivative. It’s the thing about most Asian brands; when they employ some Europeans in their design studios they can really be on the ball in terms of styling, but left to their own devices they produce designs that could only be described as ridiculous (take a tour through Tokyo and Seoul if you don’t believe me). So whilst the i30 is not a bad looking car, it’s hardly ground-breaking, and if you look at some Hyundai models available only in the Asian markets you will soon see where this brand’s soul (pardon the pun) really is.

    • mark

      you realise it’s a kia soul not hyundai?

  • sillyhonda

    Frontman said/ “I laughed when a print magazine bagged a Daewoo’s 2.2l 4cyl yet waxed lyrically about the same motor in a Vectra, Same motor built on the same line in Australia using same ECU & gearbox somehow deteriorated between Melbourne & Ulsan?”

    That’s really good point..Well done…

  • sillyhonda

    Do you guys know that Daewoo cars have induced much fewer warranty claims than Holden cars such as Commodore?

    That means Aussie made car is even worse than Daewoo in terms of quality…I will never buy Holden car..They are rubbish!!

  • Simon

    Just out of curiosity, if the i30 shares the same platform as the Elantra then why isn’t the Elantra winning all these awards as the i30?

  • ravith

    Alborz, I thought the base model had side/curtain airbags. However, that could be ordered.
    Having no cruise control really affected me. It can only be added as \’after-market\’ dealer fitted option (not the original factory fitted). But I am talking about Petrol models SX.
    Other than that, i30 was great to drive, and even my 4 y.o daughter appreciated nice ride!!

  • sillyhonda

    Simon/ Because it has soft suspension…Most motor journalists hates soft suspension but I hate firm suspension. That is, I prefer comfortable ride over good handling..

  • Steve-Poyza

    In don’t judge brands, I either like a car or I don’t. I like this car. I like Renaults. I think I needn’t have to say more.

  • Kayak

    G’day!
    These are all very interesting comments I have been reading.
    I am an ex Motor Mechanic. At my apprentice time, work was mainly on diesel powered trucks, farming machinery and fishing trawlers. After finishing my greasy apprenticeship in a small coutry town on the North Sea coast in Germany.
    I worked for several GM dealers around Germany, Switzerland and Australia. I have been a GM men ever since and driven GM vehicles for 52 years.
    A couple of months ago I purchased a new Hyundai i30 SX.CRDI.( After testing several other diesels in this class and more expensive) The i30 got my vote.
    I am no GM men anymore. I must say I have fallen in love with this vehicle.
    I have to congratulate the Koreans; they are on a winner here.

  • Chris Hulme

    The only problem I have found with the i30 is that the front passenger seat is very uncomfortable, there is no lumber support and the seat is too hard. My Wife and I travel quite long distances too and from Work and it is becomming quite a problem.
    Has anyone else had this problem?

  • Idris

    Thanks for the reviews and comments. ended up buying the i30 for my wife and she absolutely loves it. this is a great car and value for money

  • Leighton

    I was like many with the typical Australian brand prejudice. Fortunately I had a look at the i30 (manual slx) as a means of comparison as I was thinking of buying one of the competitor cars. For me the i30 seems to be a really well thought out car. The list of features is longer than any of its competitors covering the most important categories like safety, value and economy, however what I liked most about the car was the little things once inside. The display looks great, the chilled glove box is a really cool feature (no pun intended) and the storage compartments are really convenient. Furthermore the ipod conectivity tucked neatly away in the centre console and the fully adjustable steering wheel are features that not abailable without paying a chunk more.
    Needless to say I chose the i30, ordered it yesterday, now I’m waiting to find out availability so I can get my hands on my new car.

  • Wally

    Hi to you all,

    I have read all the reviws and customers’/peoples’s comments on the automatic Hyundai i30 SX CRDI.

    Yesterday I took a test drive on this vehicle and was very impressed.

    The final advice that convinced me was the comments from the KAYAL above, an experienced diesel mechanic.

    I literally said to to salesman: “I want what KAYAL has bought” for my wife.

    Great reviews by your writers/reviewers!

    I literally had to shake off my “badge ego”.

  • Wally

    Hi,

    I want to make a correction.

    The diesel mechanic’s name referred to should have read KAYAK, not KAYAL.

    My apologies.

  • Phil

    We did exactly what Alborz suggested. Last year when looking for a small/medium automatic for the wife we tested all of the cars we could think of in the class. Initially my wife liked the look of the Lancer but after driving it we weren’t impressed. Other cars that we looked at were Focus, Astra, Civic, Corolla and others. we bought the diesel SLX i30 as it stood out above all the others for value and features. I always hated Hyundai but the i30 has definately changed my opinion.

  • brett

    is the negative brand image of hyundai cars going to impact on the resale value of the i30 when it is 3 years old?

  • HAL

    ^ Is that a rhetorical question?

  • Rob

    I bought a Hyundai i30 SLX Manual Diesel what a brilliant little car “all it took was for myself to get over wanting a large car or ute” The i30 is smooth quite goes well and unreal on fuel saving over 2.5 X the cost of my previous Vehicle. This car continues to convince myself I have made the right decision and car choice.

  • brett

    yes hal

  • FrugalOne

    As good as this i30 is, for mine the Mitsubishi Lancer Sportsback gives you superior Japanese built quality, more car etc for hardly any more coin.

    Forgot all about the Lancer!

    Cheers

    F-0

  • JollyRoger

    Advertorial on the i30?

  • LINDA MULDOON

    I took possession of my i30 SX AUTOMATIC a week ago and so far I’m very happy with my choice. I bought it in WHITE with tinted windows, headlight protectors and mudflaps as extras, so with the black handles on the SX it looks very smart, simple and well designed. I found the black carpet showed up specks and leaf litter big time, so I’ve already invested in four universal-fit rubber mats which improve the look at floor level. The engine is very quiet and the ride very smooth. I particularly like the way the windscreen wipers tuck away out of view. At this early stage my only complaint is the outsize key/transmitter which seems to have been designed by someone who is oblivious to the fact that I also have to carry a batch of other keys to get through life.

    • keyless

      i thought the flip-out key design was really cool…

  • bros

    test drive i30 manual CRDi…..best car in it’s class! put prius to shame!

  • Roysie

    The i30 and Kia Ceed is basically the same car underneath the body work. The Ceed looks like a ten year old model which has been put together with no thought for style and using spare parts left over from another model. ItS obvious Hyundai have used a design company to give the i30 a superior appearance. I think the i30 looks better than a Focus.

    My young lady needed a car to replace her aging Fiesta and after testing driving the i30 we decided it was the car for us. The build quality is excellent and the standard spec is amazing. We went for the 1.4 comfort on the scrappage scheme and with the saving we made it enabled us to replace our second car.

    We looked at City Cars and the one that came out top for price, space, spec and design was the i10. Forget the name you can’t go wrong with Hyundai. On the scrappage scheme you can buy two cars for the price of one. Two of our friends have ordered i10’s.

  • Jonny

    I work for a ford and hyundai dealer. After working on and driving both the focus and the i30, I brought my wife on i30 as it is by far the best vehicle of the two. Hyundai have come along way in the past couple of years with there quality, and i recomend any hyundai product over the equilivant ford product.

  • fonseca

    I had a Accent that was at least a horror: multiple serious malfunctions from the day I bought it.
    So, I was seriously apreensive when I took the I30crdi. I must say I find it a very good car. I do not regret the choice I made.

  • http://www.TerrysTravels.com Terry

    I bought a Hyundai i30 SLX yesterday. I didn’t worry about the brand as there was a $10,000 difference to other cars (Toyota, Honda, Mazda) to get the same features etc. So, no brainer as I much prefer to use the $10K to pay off my mortgage.

    Best thing is the Hyundai i30 won the Best Small Car Award for 2009 and 2008, Best environment award and 5 Star safety rating. So, happy to put aside my brand prejidice.

    Cheers
    Terry

  • peter

    On 7th Feb 2010, i sought info on the open blog of experiences with high fuel consumption in I30 petrol auto in METRO area.

    No reponse however on country run in last few days, over 588kms, I used 44 litres for an average of 7.482 litres per 100 kms at average speed of 100km’s per hour.
    Very happy with this.
    Still happy if someone can shed light on Metro high useage.Thanks

  • CrustyTheClown

    What the Japanese think of them:

    “Hyundai in Japan

    Despite having growing sales worldwide, Hyundai struggled in Japan, having sold only 15,000 passenger cars from 2001 to 2009. Following an announcement on November 2009, Hyundai pulled their passenger car division out of the Japanese market.”

    • Robin Graves

      The Japs are hated by the Koreans and the Chinese, and vice versa. This is mainly due to the atrocities committed by the Japanese military since the 1930′s against Chinese and Korean women and children. This rivalry was put to good use when building the Petronas towers. The race was on, and the Koreans won.

  • Rustynutz

    I bought a i30 SLX diesel last month and I’m loving it! It put’s larger cars to shame with the way it performs up hills etc and it has a surprising amount of interior room.
    Quality wise I can’t fault it…I have no hesitation in recommending.

    • Anonymous

      I see your over crashing your holden’s due to poor driving and now are planning to crash your hyundai, you know nothing about cars (except what you get paid to say).

  • Another_Person

    Its Korean … enough said.

    2nd rate asian nation, 2nd rate car manufacturer. tries so hard to grow out of the shadow of big brothers Japan and China in every aspect, economy, olympics, manufacturing etc.

    the korean manufacturers are in a rocky spot at the moment. not as good as proven jap brands like toyota, mazda, honda, subaru etc, so slightly cheaper, effectively those who cant afford to buy the benchmark. but not the cheapest either, with Proton and Great Wall Motors both considerably cheaper (albeit bad quality, but u get wat u pay for).

    lol its a Hyundai, enough said

    • J

      “shadow of big brothers Japan and China in every aspect, economy, olympics, manufacturing etc.”

      >>hmmm. sorry, off-topic. If you says their olympic record, Actually Korea doing well than Japan.

      *2008 Summer Olympics medal ranking
      South Korea ranked #7
      Japan ranked #9

      *2010 Winter Olympics medal ranking
      South Korea ranked #5
      Japan ranked #20

      * S.Korea economy is not far behind than as you think
      GDP per capita (PPP) gap is only 5000$. Japan (32,817$, World ranking #24)
      Korea (27,791$, World ranking #32)

      *manufacturing – S.Korea is currently world largest shipbuilder, semiconductor manufacturer.

      *South Korea is currently ranked as the pretty innovative country in the world among major economies in the Global Innovation Index

      areadevelopment.com/StudiesResearchPapers/3-9-2009/innovation-leadership-manufacturing-NAM.shtml
      not so behind country as you think.

      >> Sorry, off-topic. I just tell you they are not so behind country as you think.

      • notreally

        and Norway came #4 and Austria came #5, so by your logic, they are advanced countries because they had a high ranking in the Winter Olympics which no one even watches or attends, lol.

        South Korea’s GDP is $929 Billion USD

        http://www.google.com/publicdata?ds=wb-wdi&met=ny_gdp_mktp_cd&idim=country:KOR&dl=en&hl=en&q=South+Korea+GDP

        Japan’s GDP is $4.91 Trillion USD

        http://www.google.com/publicdata?ds=wb-wdi&met=ny_gdp_mktp_cd&idim=country:JPN&dl=en&hl=en&q=Japan+GDP

        I think x5 is a pretty big gap don’t you? GDP per capita is useless when representing a countries power/wealth. Just like how Australia has high GDP per capita, it doesn’t convert to a country’s influence, just a high lowest common demoninator.

        Innovative? you mean good at copying others.

        Samsung & Hyundai are all copycat companies who haven’t had any original products.

        imo SKorea has a greater chance of merging with NKorea than becoming a world leader in anything other than being 2nd rate.

      • notoc

        Burj dubai tower which is world’s tallest building built by Korean and as well as Taipei 101 tower. Samsung…
        Enough said

        • Another_Person

          Wrong.

          The tower’s architecture and engineering were performed by Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill of Chicago. Adrian Smith, who started his own firm in 2006, was the chief architect, and Bill Baker was the chief structural engineer for the project.

          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burj_Khalifa

          Samsung was only one of the many CONTRACTORS of the job. But it was engineered and designed by Americans.

          ie. Koreans took part only, but was not the sole entity responsible for erecting the Burj Khalifa.

          Anyways this is getting off topic, keep it to cars please, and based on facts, not imagination.

          Fact is, the Hyundai i30 isn’t anywhere near the ‘class leader’ its qualities propel it to be, based on sales (which is more substantial than anyone’s opinions here). Speaking with your wallet has much more substance than a comment.

  • Hey

    Hyundai is the most satisfying car
    (UK Media) // 11 Apr 2010

    “The most satisfying new car to own is the Hyundai i30, according to readers of The Daily Telegraph and other car owners from throughout Britain.

    The i30 scooped the annual Driver Power of customer satisfaction carried out by Auto Express magazine, which aims to find the best car in Britain in terms of customer satisfaction and reliability.

    More than 23,000 car buyers completed the survey, in which the i30 came ahead of last year’s winner, the Jaguar XF, and the Skoda Octavia, which finished second in 2009. Hyundai is the first Korean maker to win in nine years of the survey.

    While it was good news for Hyundai, the big-selling Ford Focus came resolutely mid-table – in 51st out of 100 models. It was bad news for Vauxhall, with the previous-generation Corsa – an extremely popular used buy – in last place, while the MkIV Astra finished just one place ahead.

    In the manufacturer category, Toyota’s luxury brand Lexus came second behind Skoda. Peugeot was rated the worst due to poor performances by its 307 and 207 hatchbacks. Thanks to the i30, Hyundai make the biggest improvement, jumping 12 places.

    Auto Express editor-in-chief David Johns said: “This is a huge breakthrough for Hyundai. Over the years, owners have told us how reliable their cars are and how good value they are, too. But this is the final proof that they can now match that with real all-round satisfaction.”

    telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/7567264/Hyundai-is-the-most-satisfying-car.html?utm_source=tmg&utm_medium=TD_Hyundai&utm_campaign=moto1204pm

  • Another_Person

    Just like how Samsung is a poor man’s Sony, Hyundai is a poor mans Mazda/Toyota/Honda

    • Hey

      Yeah, Toyota is poor man’s GM. According to your logic.

      • Stupid_American

        lol american cars are the worst of the lot.

        just look @ how bankrupt their automotive industry is if you’d like an indication.

        if they produced good quality cars that actually sold, then they wouldn’t be bankrupt

  • pam

    I just test drove the 1.6 turbo diesel model and loved the ride. it has far more power than you’d expect, although i found the inside slightly uninspired, it is definately a quality car. I managed to pick one up for 25,990 so i think i got my moneys worth

  • Jessy

    Last week we purchased a Nov 10 complianced,MY11 minor upgrade White i30 SLX Diesel Auto. We paid $26800.00 onroad.

    After reading reviews for about 18 months and driving most others in the class it was clear to us the i30 was the best for our needs,In 1600 km we have used a total of 90 ltrs of fuel at an average of 6.24l/100km on a tight engine at posted town and highway speeds. The ease at which this car eats miles has surprised me,coming fom a predominately Ford, Holden, Mitsubishi V8/6 background.

    There is a medium amount of tyre noise which will hopefully be fixed when the tyres are changed for Michelins when worn out.ipod connectivity is great for long trips, cruise is very unobtrisive, ac excellent.

    Biggest problem we have is the “Blue” radio display is extremely bright at night,much better when dimmed and fortunately able to be shut off with the “Dark” button function on the radio.

    All up so far we are extremely impressed with the car and hope to be for years to come…

  • Lance

    Interesting comments here :-). We are taking delivery of a Hyundai PSX Auto i30 tomorrow. After owning two Hyundai Excels for (1)16 years, and (2) 13 years, we had no difficulty in going to the same dealer again for a new vehicle. Both vehicles had been serviced and maintained by that dealership for all of those years. Perhaps we could have had them serviced by an independent, but the fact that genuine parts were used and guaranteed, was worth the extra. While they are in great condition, we felt, with retirement coming up, we only have need for one vehicle (and to help minimize expenses), so we have traded both in on the i30. With all the extra features in the i30, we are looking forward to a whole new driving experience.

  • likeseriously

    god it was fun reading all those comments from 09 to 10,

    now 11,

    i30 has more 5kw power than BMW’s 118i !?
    i30 green star = 4.5………..bmw is 3.5
    air pollution i30, 8.5/10…….bmw is 5/10

    hyundai 5 year warranty………bmw 3

    both 5 dr auto 2.0l hatchbacks

    i30, $23k drive away

    118i, $42k+onroads and all crap

    i’d be crazy to buy a bmw……

  • dianne stemp

    i bought hyundai 130sx 2 litre in nov 2010,pretty happy with car but a few problems,air con not the best not that cold,windows frosting up and not clearing,not even winter,i paid nearly $24000.00 brand new,any advise would be appreciated.

    dianne

  • Standup

    Hold on everyone bagging on the i30. I have a few questions. Have you even taken one for a test drive? Probably not. Have you considered the service cost and repair cost? Probably not. So now that you have asked yourself those questions decide if you hate the car or dislike it. I own a Hyundai i30 SX model Auto 2L and i can tell you now, it absolutely outclassed the toyota corolla conquest and dont even bother talking about the accent. I took both for a test drive. i30 hands down winner. Just because it has a korean badge doesnt mean its crap. VW and BMW, love them to pieces but all i have ever had with these cars is huge bills and it ends up killing the joy of driving the car. My father owned a BMW M5 and my mother drove a VW Golf. Both cars were taken for recommended services and both broke down all the time. Beautiful cars terrible road record. After all ANCAP love the i30 there must be something about the car that makes it a winner compared to the GOLF.

  • John

    I bought a new 1.6l manual petrol model in April this year for $18490 (I took the $500 petrol offer as discount). It is about the tenth car I have owned and I cannot fault it. It is quick, it is comfortable for a man 180cm tall and well over 100kgs, everything works and it is economical petrol wise. What else do you want in a car?

  • BOB REDFORD

    Gyday;

    great car…but look at $$$ this way as an example;

    i bought a merc 300d wagon for 6k.

    i spent another 6k on it. engine and exhaust upgrades and aircon.

    2k on body.

    800 on window tint and upgrade on electronics.

    changed fuel filters.200

    new suspension.800

    transmission 2k.

    so, for 17,800 i got a new car sort of. i get 8ltrs per 100 on highyway and its the most comfortable long wheelbase diesel ever made …im biased ofcourse.

    its an amazing car.

    so bllody reliable. so bloody comfortable.

    it will last another 600,00kms.

  • Ian

    Went out and bout an SX diesel today. In white with towbar. $24,230 Drive Away. Jstcould not fins anything else that compared. Especially the warranty side of things.

  • bernie L’H

    HI help ‘what model i30D 5 Door do U have 2010-11, what K’s to a tank do u get from a full tank around town, and long trips
    i’m tyhinking of getting one
    what was the comfort like after a long trip

    Bernie

  • Nikky Simpson

    I have owned my sx crdi now for 2 years. I live in Central western WLD. This car has been a dream to own. $50 per month for fuel. Runs on an oily rag. Comfortable on long drives. The nearest shopping is 2 hours away. Still under warranty for another 3 years. Still have roadside assist avail. Hubbys Toyota Prado is the same age but done more than 100000km so out of warranty. Now problems are showning up. Interior looking aged. Needs servicing more as well.
    This car is the best value for money and the most reliable vehicle I have owned. Hyundai customer CARE really does have a care factor. Even when you have passed the new car limit. Service and good price. Awesome :)

  • disgruntled i30 owner

    Worst mistake we made was buying this heap of gargbage , 9 sets of tyres ,47 head light globes , constant need of a wheel alignment every 5000 kms , very poor fuel economy 520 kms dead empty is the best it gets , no its not a driver needs to adjust driving style , thats light throttling it around , HYUNDAI have the WORST after sales people working for them i have ever had to deal with …

  • Nigel Jennings

    I have just bought a 2008 2.0 crdi premium i30, I am over the moon with it, Took a little time to stop the cough while saying hyundai, but now spell it to people, I traded in a 530D BMW and just knew I would regret it, but no, its better on fuel, more comfortable, easier to park, better sound system, cheaper to tax and insure, and with the six speed box and 140 bhp, leather heated seats, Yeah I know time to stop

  • http://www.australianecurepair.com.au/ Mercedes Key

    Tracing its roots since the W124 sported the ‘E’ name for the first time in 1986 in the form 200E and later in 1994 when the ‘E’ moved to appear before the nomenclature to what we know today such as E250, the E-Class remains the pride of Daimler. For 2014, the E-Class exudes what might just be the most robust facelift in its history.

Hyundai i30 Specs

cw SLX 1.6 CRDi : 1.6L DIESEL TURBO F/INJ - 4 SP AUTOMATIC - 4D WAGON
Car Details
Make
HYUNDAI
Model
i30
Variant
cw SLX 1.6 CRDi
Series
FD MY10
Year
2009
Body Type
4D WAGON
Seats
5
Engine Specifications
Engine Type
DIESEL TURBO F/INJ
Engine Size
1.6L
Cylinders
DIESEL TURBO 4
Max. Torque
255Nm @  1900rpm
Max. Power
85kW @  4000rpm
Pwr:Wgt Ratio
60.2W/kg
Bore & Stroke
77.2x84.5mm
Compression Ratio
17.3
Valve Gear
DUAL OVERHEAD CAM
Drivetrain Specifications
Transmission
4 SP AUTOMATIC
Drive Type
FRONT WHEEL DRIVE
Final Drive Ratio
3.532
Fuel Specifications
Fuel Type
DIESEL
Fuel Tank Capacity
53
Fuel Consumption (Combined)
6L / 100km
Weight & Measurement
Kerb Weight
1412
Gross Vehicle Weight
Not Provided
Height
1565mm
Length
4475mm
Width
1775mm
Ground Clearance
105mm
Towing Capacity
Brake:1200  Unbrake:500
Steering & Suspension
Steering Type
RACK & PINION - POWER ASSISTED
Turning Circle
0
Front Rim Size
6x16
Rear Rim Size
6x16
Front Tyres
205/55 R16
Rear Tyres
205/55 R16
Wheel Base
2700
Front Track
1538
Rear Track
1536
Front Brakes
DISC - VENTILATED
Rear Brakes
DISC
Standard Features
Comfort
Automatic Air Con / Climate Control
Control & Handling
16 Inch Alloy Wheels, Electronic Brake Force Distribution, Electronic Stability Program, Traction Control System
Driver
Cruise Control, Leather Steering Wheel, Power Steering, Trip Computer
Entertainment
Radio CD with 6 Speakers
Exterior
Fog Lights - Front, Power Mirrors
Interior
Cloth Trim, Power Windows
Safety
Dual Airbag Package, Anti-lock Braking, Head Airbags, Seatbelts - Pre-tensioners Front Seats, Side Front Air Bags
Security
Alarm System/Remote Anti Theft, Central Locking Remote Control, Engine Immobiliser
Optional Features
Exterior
Metallic Paint
Other
Service Interval
12 months /  15,000 kms
Warranty
60 months /  999,000 kms
VIN Plate Location
10-Q-15
Country of Origin
KOREA