Expand Ad


2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review & Road Test

Power, performance, poise and price… the G6E Turbo ticks all the boxes.

Model Tested:

  • 2008 Ford G6E Turbo 4.0 litre six cylinder automatic sedan – $54,990 (RRP)

Options:

  • Matching Alloy Spare $250; 19″ Alloy Wheels $2000; Satellite Navigation $2290; Safety Enhancement Pack $500, Tow Pack $495

Performance, Economy, Comfort, Price Tag

Interior Fit & Finish, Forward Console Lay Out

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

CarAdvice Rating:

- Words by Matt Brogan, Photos by Paul Maric

When you go to the breeder to pick out a new puppy you’re told to go for the one who’s most lively, the one that stands out as being more interesting than the others or is simply the first to bound up and lick your face. Similarly from the moment I first saw the G6E Turbo at Ford’s FG Falcon unveiling I knew this was the pick of the litter and for me at least, was the one to take home.

Okay, so it didn’t lick my face, that would have been plain weird, but it did have a calling about it, a stand out quality that told me it was serious, fast but by the same token livable and luxurious – what’s not to like?

From the outset it is a very handsome car. Every line and each contour just seem to follow and flow in to the next seamlessly, without being gaudy or pretentious. It’s almost understated in it’s design which is just one of the qualities I most love about this car.

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

There is no shouting, no vibrant paintwork or bookshelf spoiler, just a subtle lip on the boot lid, a couple of small and well placed badges and a slightly more purposeful stance over those 18-inch alloys to hint that this is no mortal Falcon.

Inside the piano black finish of the centre console and sumptuous creamy leather trim almost mask the performance credentials lurking beneath the surface, in fact were you to leave the engine switched off, you’d swear black and blue oval you were in nothing more than a new generation Fairmont Ghia. Turn that flip key and give it a little kick in the guts and it soon becomes crystal as to the intent of the G6E Turbo.

Under that soft flowing bonnet lies the same 270kW turbocharged power house fitted to the XR6T, which under full noise generates a 533Nm burst of torque from 2000rpm all the way to 4750 rpm – and what a noise it is, the euphonious force fed in-line six-cylinder sounds orchestral and remains deep, all the way to the red line.

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

The performance results that ensue are electric, and the entertainment value therein is one of the more pleasurable outcomes of driving the G6E Turbo. Most challengers to a quick saunter from the lights were left dumbstruck when the “family sedan” had annihilated them, whilst with the Dynamic Stability Control – Ford’s take on ESP – switched off it was I left wondering where I was amid a thick Dunlop fog.

Next page…

Cog swapping comes compliments exclusively of a six-speed ZF automatic that in my opinion is by far the best gearbox available in an Australian produced car.

The ZF is brilliantly decisive and is just as happy popping quick changes for a sprint down the overtaking lane as it is dawdling around town. The only addition I could have asked for would be some shift buttons or paddles on the steering wheel.

Steering feel (along with driving position) was one of the biggest headaches for the previous BA/BF series and Ford has done well to ensure the issues were addressed for FG. Offering a far more neutral and balanced feel, the steering offers quicker turn-in and sharper front-end feel over the predecessor, as well as far less column vibration.

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

The suspension set up too has benefited in making for not only a better handling package, but one that rides in a more settled manner, is easier to manage when evasive maneuvering is required and offers a more calm, quiet and comfortable ride – a brilliant mix all round.

Up back G6E Turbo loses the LSD fitted to its XR6T cousin, but given the more family orientated packaging this is probably a good thing. The final drive ratio comes in at 2.73:1 which makes for very economic highway cruising, in fact for my week of combined driving I managed an average of 11.6 litres per 100km.

Staying at this end of the car G6E Turbo of course offers Falcon’s famous large boot (531 litres) and also features 60/40 split fold rear seats for those occasions when a little more space is required.

Towing capacity is de-rated from the 2300kg normally on offer in Falcon to 1600kg for transmission cooling reasons, but given most people are unlikely to use the G6E Turbo for little more than the bikes or a jet ski, it’s more than ample.

Next page…

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

With a house full of airbags, ABS, EBA, EBD and one of the most well calibrated ESP systems available in an Australian built car, the G6E Turbo has the safety aspect covered as well to ensure safe motoring for the family buyer.

Some aspects of the interior did hint that fit and finish was a little lacking with our model showing displacement in the joins around the Human Machine Interface (HMI) screen, driver’s door handle and auxiliary input plug.

I also find the left over taxi/police pack tray at the forward end of the console a little unsightly as compared to FPV rivals, but those trivial items aside, the G6E Tubo feels and appears well built.

For the price, the G6E Turbo offers a level of performance unrivaled in an Australian built luxury sedan and what’s better still is that it won’t deplete the funds each time you fill up. Power, performance, poise and price … the G6E Turbo ticks all the boxes.

CarAdvice Overall Rating:
How does it Drive:
How does it Look:
How does it Go:

2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review
2008 Ford G6E Turbo Review

Specifications:

  • Engine: 3984cc DOHC six-cylinder (24 valve)
  • Power: 270kW @ 5250rpm
  • Torque: 533Nm @ 2000 – 4750rpm
  • Induction: Intercooled turbo & multi point
  • Transmission: Six-speed automatic
  • Differential/Driven Wheels: 2.73:1 / Rear
  • Brakes: Disc with ABS, EBA & EBD
  • Top Speed: Not Tested
  • 0-100km/h: 5.18 seconds
  • 0-400m: 13.43 @ 173km/h
  • Fuel Consumption: 11.7 litres/100km (ADR)
  • Fuel Tank Capacity: 68 litres
  • Fuel Type: 98 RON petrol
  • ANCAP Rating: Five star
  • Airbags: Front, side & curtain available
  • Safety: ESP with Traction Control
  • Spare Wheel: Space saver
  • Tow Capacity: 1600kg (Braked)
  • Turning Circle: 11.0 metres
  • Warranty: 3 years/100,000km
  • Weight: 1715kg (Tare)
  • Wheels: Alloy 18 x 8.0-inch

Road Test the Rivals:



  • Tom

    Brilliant car, good job Ford. It’s a shame you can’t export these, they are probably the best car in the entire international ford lineup.

  • Kris

    My dad was in the market for either this or a Calais V, after testing them both side by side, we could not go past the Ford. Awesome car! Im always happy to swap my Liberty GT with dad\’s G6E T for the weekend LOL!

  • Devil666

    thank you for finally commenting on the gaudy centre console/HMI. If Ford could fix that (and the giant, hideous steering wheel) they’d be making a strong case to get me out of my Calais….

  • VW Freak

    Good ol’ Ford and their build quality issues early in a new model’s life. I suppose, no where near as bad as the EA or AU. It’s a shame they’ll have the usually bad resale value. Bargain hunters will pick up one of these luxo stormers 2nd hand nice and cheap in 12-18 months time.

  • Bucket

    Devil666:

    Sounds like your grasping at straws for reasons to stay in Your Calais V ;)
    Overall build quality and engineering as well as safety are second to none in the Falcon V Commodore battle. Im surprised the hand break alone didn’t make you swap camps!

  • Adam (aka Mada)

    Yeah and the current camry/aurion are no better in relation to dash/interior fit and finish. I drive them all.
    Toyota has slipped in this regard while Ford and Holden have improved.

    Spent 30 grand or more on a merc, BMW etc and you might have more accurate fit and finish.

    It’s bargain at that price, regardless.

  • Brett

    The price is too high; for what is!

  • Adam (aka Mada)

    In comparison to what exactly??

    The performance, handling, comfort, crash safety, service costs and insurance…yes it is value for money.

  • VW Freak

    Hey Adam, forget the additional 30K, just go the full hog, spend 75K more and enjoy a lovely C-Class AMG. :)

  • G6ETURBO

    Since when the G6E turbo available is manual??

  • Adam (aka Mada)

    :) true.

  • Joober

    “Yeah and the current camry/aurion are no better in relation to dash/interior fit and finish. I drive them all.” Agree somewhat, in fact goes for any car thats assembled in Australia, although my Aurion, dash fit is good (no gaps, imbalances etc), except that now it rattles and creaks. As said in another thread it goes to my mates in their Commodores and Falcons too. after a few weeks of purchase it seems things get loose etc…

    Hopefully with the FG it wont go to those problems after a few drives / a few weeks.

  • Bob

    The Ford webstie states that it tows 1,600kg manual and 2,300kg automatic across the range and that G6E Turbo is also only available in automatic according to the website, so not sure where you got your information??? That would mean it has a max of 2,300kg towing capacity.

  • cameron

    I was surprised about the towing capacity too. If there is an overheating issue then Ford would do well to add a towing pack as an option with additional cooling. Towing has always been unsurpassed by the falcon in the aussie made 6′s. Many people choose the falcon for this very reason. Seems odd if they don’t keep it that way.

  • Twilight

    this car is neat as. dad’s work have 2 down thre atm, one in ‘seduce’ with the china beige leather, and the other in ‘ego’ with the same leather – i prefer the ego one, coz it was fitted with the 19′s – only because it’s his managers car, and if you’re the manager at a ford dealership you have to have the best availiable! LOL.

    the fit and finish seems fine in my opinion, and is equivelant on both cars down there. one is in the showroom, and has done no more than 4km, and the other has done well over 5,000km! and they both seem fine.

    good job ford, and good review CA!

  • http://ihatemycar.com.au/ ihatemycardotcomdotau

    very nice car..well done Ford!

  • Bret

    According to Ford specifications G6ET is only available as auto and max braked towing capacity is 2300kg.

  • http://www.caradvice.com.au Matt

    Apologies to our readers – the spec sheet provided with the car incorrectly stated the vehicle was available with a six speed manual transmission as a NCO – this has since been verified (as pointed out) as untrue. The article has been amended to reflect this change. Our apologies for any inconvenience.

  • http://faster DanMan

    Dont forget Tom, in the states you could get a mustang and a crown vic for this money!

    two beats one of these any day!

  • tonyn

    its a great car for the money, i drive one and i ave to say is comparable to the A6 i used to drive, anyone who says a calais is a better car must be smoking something good!!!

    These are a performance luxury bargain!!!

  • realcars

    Seen one in the flesh recently and certainly looks good.

  • acfsambo

    DanMan, can you get both the cars after you factor in the difference in the Aussie dollar to the US dollar?

  • Adam (aka Mada)

    probably not…

  • acfsambo

    DanMan, i just looked and 55k odd Aussie will get u 36k US, and u will need about 40k US minimum for the entry models of the Mustang and the Fusion (No more crown vic).

  • Adam (aka Mada)

    There you go, it was an irrelevant comparison anyhow…

  • http://integra MPG

    This car is by far the best car Ford have made and the best of the FG lineup. Sleek modern looks, awesome combination of performance\handling\luxury and 5 star safety. Havent seen any build quality issues with the interior on the ones I have worked, it seems a step up from BF and easily better than VE. I cant see how or why you would by a Camry\Aurion (same car) or a VE after driving one of these……….absolutley awesome, and what a bargain !!!!

  • CB

    Calais V looks way better on the outside, though I like Ford’s interior more.

    Personally I’d buy a five year old E39 BMW M5 – still more features than the Ford, looks nicer, and performance is great too… expensive if anything goes wrong, but I reckon it’s still my favourite BMW vehicle of the past 15 years.

  • http://integra MPG

    on the centre console……..it is brilliant.the way it is easy to reach and use is fantastic….i love the way it is slanted toward the driver for better ergonomics……..well done Ford.

  • Baji

    I really like this car. It looks great, from the things i’ve read, goes great and is apparently quite economical for its engine size. But I really dislike the center stack. it looks really cheap imo. I prefer the calais center stack over this (but just the center stack). Great car, but would prefer a nicer dash and better materials.

  • Phillip

    I think that Ford have done really well with this car. People looking at a Honda Accord or something European as an alternative should remember that European marques (and Honda) charge a fortune for servicing and parts. If you live in the city and are leasing then go for the european, but if you live in the country and are likely to hang onto the car for several years then the Ford is your best bet. I am trying to get my father into a G6, as he isn’t the best driver in the world so is likely to have to replace a headlight, mirror or some other component every year or so.

  • open_road

    Good review of a great car.

    Throughout Ford Australia’s history they have made road cars for this country that at times border on superlative. This is one of them, cast in a well proven mold. So much torque, so low and the beautiful 2.73 cruising diff. Luxury seating – they have always done this best. Suspension that feels good without creating a harsh series of bumps in the ride. The chassis of a true Australian road car, and the best one available today.

    This car evokes the magic of 351W FMX auto ZC Fairlanes, the 302W auto 2.92 diff XW and 302W/351C auto 2.93 diff XY GS Fairmonts of old. We treasure our XW for this very reason, it is fantastic given a country highway. Torque and comfort.

    This one sounds very economical, too. 11 for a road test? A private user could top this easily.

    If Ford can get the word out and give fleets a competitive initial price, user-choosers may well buy a few, particularly when the $55k is compared to the prices of comparative size/power imports and its superiority is compared to its local opposition. Of all the cars in the range, this is also the model that should appeal to private customers, too. I’m tempted. Icing on the cake is that it is under the hated Luxury Car Tax threshold.

    If they inherit the depreciation of the Fairmont Ghia (and I am sure the XR6T and XR8 will hold their values better if history is a guide), then a near new FG G6E Turbo will be something to cherish before 2010 has passed.

    Chrome, prodigious power, comfort, and engineered here for this country. Nice work, Ford.

  • Andrew M

    i have had my FG XR6 exactlly 1 week as of right now.
    it is with out a doubt the best australian made drivers car.
    no other car made here is anywhere near as good to drive.

    i havent seen any fit and finish issues in my FG nor any of the others i tested or went through.

    you would be mad of either extremely loyal to take on holdens equivalent offering.
    its not just the dodgy hanbrake in the commys, but also the flimsy glovebox that takes 2 hands to close, and the centre console that just looks sooo dated.

    when i took delivery of the FG, the salesman flicked through a few things in the computer setting a few things for me that i asked, and i thought holy crap what a unnecesarily complicated piece of work.

    once i got it home and had a play myself, its a piece of cake to navigate through.

    the only thing the commodore has that is superior to the falcon, is the sound of the V8 roar.
    the SS has a much “rawer” note than the XR8, but that comes at a cost of a very rough idle. the V6 commy has nothing unless you rev its tits off, and at that point it sound totally out of breath.

    i dont like the seats nor the position of them in the commy either. they arent as comfortable as the falcons, and they are positioned in a way that ensure terrible visibility.

    oh, another thing holden has is superior salespeople.
    fords are shocking.
    the holden guys could rattle every feature off to me including its price.

    fords hopeless salespeople could not.
    i pretty much sold the car to myself. they cant even spit a rough price at you with out having to pull out a little pocket book, and struggling to comprehend what model you are looking at.

    some of the basic things they didnt know about their new falcon was embarrising

  • Andrew M

    Hey Matt,
    What do you mean by “Forward console lay out”??

  • http://www.cumberlandford.com.au Cumberland Ford

    Indeed a great car….

  • Tom

    Andrew M, be realistic, the only thing the commodore has superior to falcon is not the v8 roar, but how about the entire v8 performance drivetrain, there is no doubt in anyones mind both the 6.0 and 6.2 are far superior to that in the falcons

    and while the falcons interior may be a touch nicer, i still think the VE’s exterior is more exciting, put a calais v next to this g6e to show that.

  • Forza M

    Andy M, when its all said and done, your new Falcon with be worth $7K in three years, a Corolla with the same age and K’s will cost half to buy cost half to run and be worth twice as much in the same period. Its all good!!!

  • realcars

    Yeah but u would have to “drive” a Corolla for three years.LOL.

    So it isn’t good at all really.

  • Tom

    Forza, i’ve been forced into years of corolla ownership, i would pay significant money not to have to drive one of those things, this isn’t shoppingtrollyadvice.com. They are nice cars for A to B people who arn’t over 5’10, but too me it was slow, boring and cramped.

  • Carl

    Forza M…..you just don’t get it and you must be a boring bean counter!!!

    Andrew M, Good luck to you mate and i have no doubt you will enjoy driving your new XR6 just watch out with the points on your licence…LOL.

    No body with half a brain dreams of owning a Toyota Corolla, it’s just cheap transport for the ignorant masses.

  • http://porsche Millatime

    I recently had to go and retrieve a friend of a friends car for them. They gave me the key and said silver Commodore in that car park. Off i went and found the commie, flicked the key, indicators flashed, car unlocked and I jumped in. Gave the interior the once over and was underwhelmed at how plain jane it looked. There seemed to be more than the usual switches and buttons which was sort of impressive for a base model Omega, but overall I felt it was a bit plain and unimpressive, but what the hey, it’s only a (well equipped) base model.

    Having retrieved the car I parked it and walked around it to see exactly what model I’d been driving, and it was a Calais! I was shocked!

    Another mate just took delivery of a G6E turbo and after curiously checking out the interior it is absolutely light years ahead of the calais. In fact after a long drive you’ll find it’s actually light years ahead in every department.

    Good review CA.

  • Stevothedevo

    Great car for the cash – with the shrinking aussie dollar these would be a great export into europe. The pommies would love this one. If vauxhall can import commies then ford uk should import them – and if they didn’t it would be a great little business importing them for resale.

  • Joe

    My G6ET(Ego with 19′s) is 3 months old with 6,000km on the clock and I agree with most of the comments made by your tester.
    The one thing about the G6ET which is pleasantly surprising though,is that a lot of other drivers out there know exactly what this car is.
    Previously I have had both a BA XR6T and a BF XR8 and driving and loving these cars I always had to prove myself and the cars against guys in SS’s, WRX’s, grey imports and even in sportier Beemers, Mercs etc.
    But now with the G6ET, even(or especially) when I am keen for a little run, guys in the abovementioned performance cars(and many others) just don’t want to try their luck.
    Reminds me of the time back in the late 80′s when I had a Ferrari 328GTS for a day.
    No need to drag off at the lights or go very fast etc. as everyone could see that it was a very quick car and there was no need to prove yourself.
    I am not comparing the G6ET to a Ferrari, but you get what I mean.
    By the way I love V8 Commodores and Rex’s, especially 6.2 Clubby’s and drainpipe exhaust equipped Rex’s, but they don’t seem to like me very much.

  • Elitist

    Iv’e seen 1980′s teac hifi’s with better facades than this cars console.

  • http://integra MPG

    Elitist……you are a tool. The interior is great including the fantastic console……..it actually works nicely and looks great and doesnt have power window buttons slapped on it…….they are on the doors where they should be. The handbrake is also nice to use …..

  • CB

    “No body with half a brain dreams of owning a Toyota Corolla, it’s just cheap transport for the ignorant masses.”

    Just like bottom of the range Falcodores! Holden and Ford want to appeal to the “user choosers” with this car, but there is too much stigma attached to owning such a car, hence the massive shift towards Hondas, Mazdas etc.

    This car is great bang for your buck, but as a “luxury” car it goes without features seen in the $60K Audis and Lexus’ of the world.

  • Tom

    I think a low end commodore or falcon is a much more satisfying car to own than a corolla. They are atleast moderately powerful and have some interior space.

  • Joe

    Hey CB, what features does a $60k Lexus/Audi get that a G6ET doesn’t? Features like no space,no performance,no handling,expensive servicing/insurance,no towing capacity are givens at this price. The only feature that comes to mind is THE BADGE.

  • Sam

    At least its proof I wasn’t lying a few weeks back when I said that I went for a climb through a new XR8 ute and nearly cut myself open on the shitty fit of the door handle plastics. The fit and finish of the entire cabin was horrific.
    How can I expect the rest of the car to be put together any differently?
    The fact is Ford cant sell them and have announced more job cuts today.
    Even if it does have a 5* safety rating and go like the clappers.

  • CB

    Joe Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 10:34 am
    “Hey CB, what features does a $60k Lexus/Audi get that a G6ET doesn’t? Features like no space,no performance,no handling,expensive servicing/insurance,no towing capacity are givens at this price. The only feature that comes to mind is THE BADGE.”

    Mate, you’re a typical Falcodore customer who has obviously not been in a proper luxury car and thinks the world revolves around racing at traffic lights and towing a caravan or small sh##ty boat on holidays. It’s not always about performance! Note your comments:

    “no space” – if you’re single or a couple why would you need so much space?
    “no performance” – an IS250 is adequate, a four pot Audi or BMW will be fine as long as you don’t drive with five adults
    “no handling” – I think you’ll be surprised with an IS250. And a four pot 320i handles better than the G6ET
    “expensive servicing/insurance” – again you’ll be surprised with the figures. Besides aftersales service for these vehicles completely sh##s over Ford’s
    “no towing capacity” – the majority of the population don’t tow. In fact, why would anyone want to live in a caravan – the Sofitel is fine for me.

    Here are a few features for you that this so called “luxury” car doesn’t have and you can purchase as standard or options on bottom range Japanese or German luxury cars:

    - climate controlled seats
    - top of the line vehicle sound system (e.g. Lexus has Mark Levinson)
    - auto up/down on all four windows (hilarious the Falcon still doesn’t have this!)
    - lane change assist
    - lane departure warning
    - adaptive headlights
    - xenon headlights (even a commie has these!)
    - tri-zone climate control (Audi has set the bar here)
    - adaptive cruise control
    - full electric seats for front passenger (I can’t believe the G6ET doesn’t have this, the Germans and Japanese have had this available for over a decade in their entry level cars!)

    These cars also have exemplary fit and finish which makes a mockery of Fords.

    The G6ET is a nice car, but like I said above, I’d get an E39 M5.

  • Frontman

    CB, how many 60k Lexus and Audi’s give you Reverse camera’s and sonar, 533nm of torque, room for 5 Adults, Full Ipod intergration (meaning control from dashboard or steering wheel) along with the towing etc????? As for the 500 job cuts, if you are quoting then quote the full story, that is over the next 2 years (hmmm isnt Geelong being shut down then?). Yes they have staff cuts, but what company isn’t doing the same? How many did Fairfax cut back recently?
    These are genuinely nice vehciles to drive and wothry of the praise reaped upon them.

  • http://dodge Marcos

    gr8 car good looks, nice 6…but what are the on chargin $2290 for nav system…geez put in a top of the range nav system for $500 bucks and your done, plus you can take it out anyhow…they would be best charging $1500 for rear camera, best invention ever…

  • Frontman

    Marco, rear camera standard.
    As to the fit of the center consol, looking at the plate on the car in the Photo, I think you would find the compliance of that car is somewhere around February. (ie a pre production car.)

  • http://dodge Marcos

    ok frontman missed that tar….

    still would prefer a lexus is250X for $68

  • Adam (aka Mada)

    It’s nice when the information is correct ;)

  • Tom

    CB, most of the stuff you listed doesn’t interest me in the slightest, and i also doubt that you will find any of that on a car of similar price to the Falcon. A G6E is what, 55k? I don’t believe radar guided cruise control is standard on the entry level C Class or 3 series.

  • Theo

    $55,000 / 5.1 seconds to 100 kph. That is all you need to know.

  • Spider

    Theo, dragging people off at the lights is all that is good for, and that is such a irresponsible, dangerous, immature bogan thing to do!
    I’m with CB, the body just looks bland, boring and cheap.
    Sorry, taxis just don’t cut it for me!

  • CB

    Frontman Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 12:38 pm
    “CB, how many 60k Lexus and Audi’s give you Reverse camera’s and sonar, 533nm of torque, room for 5 Adults, Full Ipod intergration (meaning control from dashboard or steering wheel) along with the towing etc????? As for the 500 job cuts, if you are quoting then quote the full story, that is over the next 2 years (hmmm isnt Geelong being shut down then?). Yes they have staff cuts, but what company isn’t doing the same? How many did Fairfax cut back recently?
    These are genuinely nice vehciles to drive and wothry of the praise reaped upon them.”

    You can get reversing a camera or adaptive cruise control as an option on the cheapest Lexus and Audi. Who gives a crap about Ipod integration if the sound is sh##. Do you think the G6ET sound system is as good as the optional Bang & Olufsen system in the Audi?? BTW both cars do have Ipod integration…

    I have no idea why you’re telling me about job cuts…?

    Of course they’e nice vehicles… but I wouldn’t buy one, there are far nicer cars I could buy, new and second hand, for $60K. I am not interested in scintillating performance or weigh 155 kilos or want to live in a caravan, hence the power figures are worthless.

    Tom Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 4:39 pm
    CB, most of the stuff you listed doesn’t interest me in the slightest, and i also doubt that you will find any of that on a car of similar price to the Falcon. A G6E is what, 55k? I don’t believe radar guided cruise control is standard on the entry level C Class or 3 series.

    And performance doesn’t interest me, or most of the country.

    You’re right, adaptive cruise control is an option in the base 3 series.

    Theo Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 4:52 pm
    $55,000 / 5.1 seconds to 100 kph. That is all you need to know.

    And the Ford and Holden senior brass wonder why Holden and Ford have the negative “bogan” and “hoon” reputation they do…

  • Tom

    CB, how much does a base 3 series cost?

    And judging by the amount of SS’s and XR6T/XR8′s i see on the road, performance matters to alot of people.

    Also when people buy Mercedes and BMW alot opt for the 335i or AMG variants, not the economy class 320i.

    If you want to drive slowly thats your decision, but i’d prefer a powerful drive train to “lane departure warning”

  • Phillip

    Hey Spider, take a taxi from most European airports and you’ll soon fall out of love with Mercedes and BMW. In fact, Merc E-class owners are often ridiculed in the British press for driving a Stuttgart taxi.

    CB, you’re kidding yourself. Despite the fact that European dealers only exist in cities of more than around 50,000 people, they rape you for the cost of spare parts. I recommend you find out how much a rear indicator costs on a European car compared to a Falcadore.

  • http://deleted Alex

    I gotta say that I dont think it looks good, I think the arse is too droupy and it looks to similar to the old one (which isnt just my opinion), but I dont want to get into a yes it does/no it doesnt type thing so what I will pick on is the fact that everybody’s boasting about the safety. Now 5 stars is obviously a good rating because currently, its the best you can get but ANCAP found 3 years ago that the Citroen C5 took a 5 star rating in the large car segment and nobody said anything about that. And of course the much smaller Fiat 500 and Mini both get 5 stars and they dont have the giant bonnet to protect them. And then it was 7 years ago that Euro NCAP found that the Renault Laguna deserved 5 stars and 7 years is quite a long time. All im saying is that people are going about this car like the safetys the best available when in reality, its 2008 and any new release car will probably be safe enough to get 5 stars.

  • Andrew M

    whats lane change assist?
    for those that cant shoulder check or something??

    its clear these tools on here havent driven let alone sat in or even gone through the features on the FG series.

    CB,
    i love how you try to pass your maturity of driving a vehicle onto us by rubbishing performance, yet get wrapped up in the “Fully Sik” stereo in the Audis etc.
    yeah, you are just a bogan in posh mans clothing

  • Tony

    CB says
    “And performance doesn’t interest me, or most of the country.”

    What! This would/would not, explain the popularity of motor racing.

    CB says
    “And the Ford and Holden senior brass wonder why Holden and Ford have the negative “bogan” and “hoon” reputation they do…”

    Yeah right.Not the fact that the cars are produced for the masses,because they offer affordable means of transportation for the majority of the public.

    What about the “ricer” image associated with your beloved IS/Toyota.

    You’ll never understand the term job cut will you CB?

  • Andrew M

    i still love the old “it looks the same” lines.

    these are the words of those that have obviously never had a look at the FG in the flesh.

    put it next to a BF and you would realise even further how stupid these comments are.

    i admitt my initial thoughts were it doesnt look too different, but in the flesh you would realise you were on drugs to think that.

  • http://deleted Alex

    Andrew M, I have been working in Adelaide recently and while sitting at the lights one day, there was one of these and a previous falcon sitting right next to each other (no big surprise) but the fact is that they do look similar. The body work isnt drastically different. A few new shapes and some more creases here and there (which the new one really needed, the old one was sooooo boring looking) but the lights are also quite similar in shape (front & back), the boot shape is quite similar, the door shape is quite similar… they are similar looking cars – not so much ugly, but no revelation. Plus, when the first pictures of this car came out, I remember the comments board here and the majority said that it looked the same as the old one – my point being that maybe your seeing it different to everyone else, not the other way around.

  • Falcodore

    sat in a G6E turbo and thought it was pretty damn good, better than my sisters VE, admittedly hers was an omega but the plastics were crap compared to the ford along with vision.
    And if you cant tell the difference between BF and FG you’re not a real car enthusiast or are just ignorant. Seen em drive past my place 1 after the other, found it very easy to tell them apart

  • Glen

    CB what about that extra torque for overtaking or driving up steep hills. Oh your probably one of those people that never leave suburbia and think that everyone lives in cities and anyone who doesnt is a bogan.

    Those base model Audi’s and BMW’s that cost 60 grand were made for little rich chicks and yuppies. I dont care if they have climate controlled seats, lane merge assist (wtf). The only BMW you’d see me in is the M3 and only Audi Id be in is an RS4. But if I only had $60k to spend on a luxury car, the G6E Turbo is it, with optional LSD.

  • Andrew M

    Alex,
    OMG a falcon that looks like a Falcon??

    what were ford thinking to retain some resomblence.

    I instantly know you are talking rubbish when you say the doors look the same.
    perhaps it was a BA sitting next to a BF that you saw??

    “the boot looks similar”…….
    yep, in that they still designed it with one.

    “lights quite similar”
    yep, in that it still has them.
    the VE lights look more like BF lights than the FG’s do.
    and for how many years were commodore tail lights interchangeable??
    all the VT’s fit VX’s, and all of the Monaro lights aswell

    seriously mate, you havent really looked at one to be speaking that rubbish.

  • http://deleted Alex

    Firstly Andrew M, Im hardly complementing the Commodores similarities generation to generation and actually, ford dont usually keep a resemblance from falcon to falcon if you look back. The EF looked alot different to the AU and the AU looked alot different to the BA and its like that all the way back to the beginning of the falcon. And I can tell the difference between a current one and the previous one. Finally, the 3 series manages to keep having a boot generation after generation (just shocking!) and change the look. Lexus looks different from generation to generation. Mercedes can do it and Ford Europe can do it. Why not Ford Australia? It just looks like a very big facelift more than a new model. Don’t forget that by the time this one goes out, the falcon will have had a similar look for about 12 years.

  • Cupid Stunt aka No Name

    Tee Hee thats funny Andrew. A Falcon daring to be looking like a Falcon. Who would have thought it. Now if it had heated seats and lane change assist (whatever that is) then would it be a BMW.

  • Andrew M

    Alex,
    what about BMW’s desire to upgrade a vehicle yet keep it very similar??

    so it would have been alright for a falcon to look similar if that was what they normally did??
    by your formula the FG upgrade would have been great if the BA/BF looked like the AU and EF/EL??

    you figured out what lane change assist is yet Cupid? ha ha ha

  • CB

    Here we go again…

    Tom Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 6:40 pm
    “CB, how much does a base 3 series cost?”
    I guess around $50K to $55K?

    “And judging by the amount of SS’s and XR6T/XR8’s i see on the road, performance matters to alot of people.”
    I see even more Omega’s, Camry’s, Corolla’s and Mazda 3′s…

    “Also when people buy Mercedes and BMW alot opt for the 335i or AMG variants, not the economy class 320i.”
    I’ve worked my way from a 320i to 325i to now 335i Coupe. The 335i is magnificent, not only because of performance and handling, but also it’s loaded with goodies. Anyway, you can get these goodies in the base car but at a price.

    “If you want to drive slowly thats your decision, but i’d prefer a powerful drive train to “lane departure warning””
    To each their own.

    Phillip Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 6:42 pm
    “CB, you’re kidding yourself. Despite the fact that European dealers only exist in cities of more than around 50,000 people, they rape you for the cost of spare parts. I recommend you find out how much a rear indicator costs on a European car compared to a Falcadore.”
    I don’t know – my three BMW’s have never had mechanical or electrical issues. And my servicing costs have not been excessive at all.

    Andrew M Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 7:41 pm
    “whats lane change assist?
    for those that cant shoulder check or something??”
    And you’ll be the first to applaud Ford when they introduce this technology in 10 years time in their cars.

    “its clear these tools on here havent driven let alone sat in or even gone through the features on the FG series.”
    I have gone through the features and highlghted the deficiencies in this vehicle. I have sat in the car and seen first hand the panel misalignments, and the cheap carryover switchgear from the previous falcon too…

    i love how you try to pass your maturity of driving a vehicle onto us by rubbishing performance, yet get wrapped up in the “Fully Sik” stereo in the Audis etc.
    yeah, you are just a bogan in posh mans clothing
    It has nothing to do with maturity you moron, just stating that performance isn’t the be all and end all. BTW I drive a 335i with Hamann Kardon sound system, which is superb.
    ;-)

    Tony Says:
    October 14th, 2008 at 7:51 pm
    CB says
    “What! This would/would not, explain the popularity of motor racing.”
    What does motor racing have to do with car sales? Otherwise Ford should be selling a lot more cars right now…

    CB says
    “What about the “ricer” image associated with your beloved IS/Toyota.” When did I mention Toyota??

    “You’ll never understand the term job cut will you CB?” Perhaps Ford Oz should have seen the market trends and made cars that will sell!

    Glen Says:
    October 15th, 2008 at 2:41 am
    “CB what about that extra torque for overtaking or driving up steep hills. Oh your probably one of those people that never leave suburbia and think that everyone lives in cities and anyone who doesnt is a bogan.”
    Actually no – I’ve workd in the mining industry for ten years. And now travel between regional areas and metro areas all the time.

    What also amazes me is that these 100% American owned “Australian” car companies can’t build a car for the bush – I have to drive 100% imported Landcruisers, when I’d spend my money on an Aussie 4WD.

    “Those base model Audi’s and BMW’s that cost 60 grand were made for little rich chicks and yuppies. I dont care if they have climate controlled seats, lane merge assist (wtf). The only BMW you’d see me in is the M3 and only Audi Id be in is an RS4. But if I only had $60k to spend on a luxury car, the G6E Turbo is it, with optional LSD.”

    With comments like that I know exactly what demographic you belong to.

    BTW you’re an idiot if you don’t even consider cars like the S5, or 335i in your preferences above.

    The comments here are laughable – all I’ve stated is that performance isn’t the be all and end all, and that this (good) car is missing a few items. And for some reason some people can’t accept it… :-)

  • Cupid Stunt aka No Name

    Ah yes lane assist Andrew. Think they are new European term for “indicators” folk here don’t use them often.

  • Tomas70

    Spot on CB!!
    Well said!!

  • Andrew M

    What is lane change assist CB.
    Come on CB, learn us bogans something else to add another feather to your cap…….

    oh, and exactlly what switch gear is carry over in the FG??

    the more i think about it, the more i realise how much they havent carried over

  • Andrew M

    Cupid,
    Probably because only them Fancy cars have them….. “Hiccup”, “Burp”

  • realcars

    Thomas69?

    Well written?

    Bogan in posh mans clothes?

    CB sounds like a conceited prick?

  • Andrew M

    Lane Change Assist anyone???

  • CB

    Seems like I touched a sore spot. :-)

    BTW you Ford lovers – stop trying to convince yourselves the FG is a great looking car. Holden styled the VE Commie well – the Calais V with 20″ alloys makes the G6ET look quite plain jane indeed.

    I’d hate to pay $55K for a car and someone thinks it’s still a BF… ;-)

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    is lane change assist something you read on a BMW brochure, but dont know what it is??
    its no good having it if its just something on a brochure.

    have you driven the VE and FG back to back??
    i have, and i purchased the FG.

    Holden sure styled a great handbrake, glove box and out dated looking centre console. Well done holden!!!

    I’d hate to pay 55K for a car which cant even get the handbrake right.

    to be fair, styling is subjective, but one thing thats clear is that at least ford put thought into designing a vehicle

  • Andrew M

    Quick CB!!!!!
    you better go and do a quick Google search so you dont look like a total tool for not knowing what “lane change assist” is

  • Joe

    Hey CB, It seems to me that you have underestimated the reaction that you have got from the majority of posters re this road test. Styling is purely a subjective thing, whereas you might prefer the appearance of a VE with 20in alloys, just as many people, including myself, prefer the G6ET even without the 20in alloys.
    BTW, I hope you love your 335i and are prepared to keep it for a long time because as a close friend of mine has just discovered whilst trying to unload his 6 month old 335i Convertible that due to the changing economic conditions he is looking at dropping at least 35-40k. Ouch!!
    Talk about Ford’s not holding their value, some Euro’s are in a different league aren’t they.

  • Tony

    LOL..Joe,

    Whats $35000.00 to $40000.00 when your happy with lane change assist!And alot less grunt.
    At least you’ve still got a badge,Blah…

    :)

  • John Kirkham

    Euro cars at base model levels look good price wise but, saying by optioning them up makes them a far better car than the G6ET is the pits.

    Go ahead with adding on the options and see what your final drive away price is… lets talk ridiculous amounts of money here. Also stupid options aswell for instance, metallic paint (wtf!), why the hell in this day & age is that ‘optional’ ?

    No Euro or high end model Jap’ car is cheap on servicing. Try hideous.

    Depreciation. See what the first Lexus made costs to purchase today. Then have a gander at the parts that need to be changed then the resultant pricing.

  • Cupid Stunt aka No Name

    SO this lane assit, what does it excactly do?

  • CB

    Seems like the BF Falcon sorry FG Falcon lovers here can’t take criticism.

    Sorry guys – it’s shameful that a “luxury” G6ET doesn’t even have basics like xenons, passenger’s power adjustable seats etc. Even a Calais V has those, and it also looks vaaastly different to a VZ Commie.

    My 335i coupe can easily be differentiated from the E46 330ci – but the G6ET looks like a riced up Fairmont Ghia.

    ;-)

  • Bret

    CB,
    Really, exactly from which angle?
    I can’t see that much of a similarity between the styling of a BF Fairmont Ghia and a FG G6E.

    And lets not mention the hundreds (thousands?) of carry over parts between the VZ & VE Commodore.

  • open_road

    The FG kills the VE for looks, no matter what others are paid to think. For a start,

    No massive, overdone front wheelarches,
    No massive, sharp rear end, as big as an SUV
    No massive A-pillars, compare to Holden’s excellent HQ
    No low-rent feel to interior

    It is as if the VE was styled around the SS (which does have presence) and the Berlina/Omega/Calais were left as an afterthought… boy racers in the design team, perhaps? The bloke above who wants a VE Calais with 20′s in preference to this, one word: bogan!

    The FG looks svelte, and features attractive curves tumbling home at each end. Look at the 3/4 Front view in this review, it is wonderful to behold. Its waist lines are subtle, blend and meet at the tail beautifully; its wheelarches are a part of the car, not the landscape outside! FG is not as adventurous as Chris Bangle’s criticised BMW styling (which I happen to love, as I love the curves), for it sells to a more conservative market. If it evokes anything it is not the BF, which has the AU’s prominent ridge line down the side and ‘turret’ glasshouse; FG evokes the Accord Euro or Liberty. Not such a bad thing at all.

    It is very obvious that FG was styled with European (Kinetic) influence, and VE with chunky, American inspired lines. Each to their own, for my money the kinetic design is far more alluring.

    That and opening the bonnet to see that red covered, beautiful, powerful, All-Australian inline turbo six!

  • jon

    I have to agree with CB on most of what he is saying but I`d take the G6E over the Calais as I think its a hell of alot better car, but he is right about the pair of them. Do yourselves a favour buy a 3 year old Euro and you would be a hell of alot better off, they have already depreciated to an affordable price and you will get a level of quality and refinement that the Aussies can`t match and you are dead set kidding yourselves if you think our cars match them and as far as servicing yeah they are marginally more expensive but they last forever because they are built better and a 3yr old Audi or Merc or BMW is still years ahead of what Aussies can produce.

  • Joe

    What is with guys like CB and Jon? Can anyone with any sense at all actually believe the attitude that these two tossers have? Who in the hell began comparing the G6ET to Beemers/Audi’s etc? That’s right, it was that BMW 335i owner CB. The last time I checked the price difference between the G6ET and the 335i sedan was around $52,300 and the G6ET is just as safe and would leave the 335i in it’s wake just about anywhere and on any road.
    Don’t you guys get it? This is an Aussie product that we should be proud of. This car should be compared against similar vehicles from Holden, Toyota, Nissan, Chrysler, Honda etc., and when it is, it beats them hands down.
    As for comparing it to used Euro Luxury cars? Well why not compare a used older say Ferrari, Porsche,Lamborghini etc. to a 3 year old performance Beemer. Ridiculous eh!!.
    So please, this Euro VS G6ET debate is getting very boring.
    BTW I don’t suppose CB or Jon has actually read the current issue of Wheels magazine where the G6ET is directly compared to the Merc E500 and the Jaguar XF V8 and actually stacks up very well considering it is almost $100k less. Hey maybe CB and Jon did read the comparo and have chosen this forum to vent their displeasure with the final verdicts.

  • ET phone home

    Fellas, whether you’re in the blue or red camp, its hard to question the value of this vehicle. I’ve been a holden nut all my life, but when it came time to buy an upmarket car, I couldn’t go past the G6ET. The fuel ecconomy alone, for such power, when compared to an eight was reason enough. Holden didn’t have anything that compared. I hate to say it but the standard features of the G6ET and the interior trim are far superior to the calais, and the turbo six is an awesome donk.

  • Duck’s Back! ………..Finally!

    In my opinion the G6ET is not a bad looking car, though alot of people and I will agree the Calais V has a nicer, brutal look to the exterior and the propositions of the Falcon are not as good as the Commodore. Though of course the G6ET interior overall is better. The dashboard looks better, it has a proper handbrake is another example too. Though the Calais V has a better looking steering wheel, but one other thing that the falcon does have is fold/split rear seat which the Commodore does not yet have. Though have saying that both the Calais V and G6ET sound like two really good competitive Australian cars.

    Though after saying that I’ll think I might have to go with the Calais V over the G6ET though, the looks win it for me!……….. :)

  • Duck’s Back! ………..Finally!

    :D

  • CB

    Joe Says:
    October 17th, 2008 at 6:34 pm
    “What is with guys like CB and Jon? Can anyone with any sense at all actually believe the attitude that these two tossers have?”
    No attitude – just stating the facts. Judging from your post you’re the one who can’t take criticism and has an “attitude”.

    “Who in the hell began comparing the G6ET to Beemers/Audi’s etc? That’s right, it was that BMW 335i owner CB.”
    Yes it was me – and then your BF Falcon loving friends also got in on the act.

    “The last time I checked the price difference between the G6ET and the 335i sedan was around $52,300 and the G6ET is just as safe and would leave the 335i in it’s wake just about anywhere and on any road.”
    In it’s wake? Perhaps the G6ET may be slightly faster, but the 335i is no slouch. And next year when BMW introduce the 7 speed DSG in the 335i it’ll be 0.2s closer still. The 335i is also a proper luxury car – which your beloved G6ET is not. I could list the deficiencies again if you like. :-)

    BTW – do you really think I paid an extra “$52,300″ more than a G6ET owner?? Perhaps you need to read up about leasing, capital assets, balloon payments, depreciation and deductions…

    “Don’t you guys get it? This is an Aussie product that we should be proud of. This car should be compared against similar vehicles from Holden, Toyota, Nissan, Chrysler, Honda etc., and when it is, it beats them hands down.”
    Only in performance – a Honda Accord Euro at $32K sh##s over it in the quality stakes. And like I’ve said before I’d get an E39 M5 over the G6ET.

    The motor and drivetrain in the G6ET is outstanding, I don’t deny that at all. But why should one buy this car if they don’t want performance? There are many aspects to car, not just performance.

    “As for comparing it to used Euro Luxury cars? Well why not compare a used older say Ferrari, Porsche,Lamborghini etc. to a 3 year old performance Beemer. Ridiculous eh!!.”
    We can – but this review is about the G6ET. ;-)

    “So please, this Euro VS G6ET debate is getting very boring.”
    So why contribute?

    “BTW I don’t suppose CB or Jon has actually read the current issue of Wheels magazine where the G6ET is directly compared to the Merc E500 and the Jaguar XF V8 and actually stacks up very well considering it is almost $100k less. Hey maybe CB and Jon did read the comparo and have chosen this forum to vent their displeasure with the final verdicts.”
    I only read Wheels to have a laugh. Have you seen some of their COTY winners? And their reviewers have been shown up on their web blogs to have blatant bias against certain brands.

    Wheels should be called “Holden” magazine, judging by the proportion of covers and articles devoted to commies. As a FG lover you surely must see the bias!

  • realcars

    Falcon not up to the quality of Honda Euro!LOL

    Thai built Honda Euro!LOL

    Have a glance down either side of a brand spanker Thai built Honda Euro and then do the same with it’s Jap built sibling. Euro panels are like corrugated iron by comparision and not as straight as an FG believe it or not.

  • Joe

    CB, are you now saying that a Honda Accord Euro is a competitor to the G6ET? Ever heard of the Ford Mondeo? Now that car is a direct competitor to the Accord Euro in every way except that it has far more interior space, even though is is a larger car, and the fact that there is a performance model(Mondeo XR5)and a diesel version(TDCi)unlike with the Accord. And yes this goes for the other Accord as well.

  • CB

    Joe Says:
    October 18th, 2008 at 6:00 pm
    “CB, are you now saying that a Honda Accord Euro is a competitor to the G6ET? Ever heard of the Ford Mondeo? Now that car is a direct competitor to the Accord Euro in every way except that it has far more interior space, even though is is a larger car, and the fact that there is a performance model(Mondeo XR5)and a diesel version(TDCi)unlike with the Accord. And yes this goes for the other Accord as well.”

    Nope, all I was saying is that an imported car from Japan subject to 10% tariffs is priced at $32K and has rock solid build compared to the $55K G6ET subject to no tariffs. Plus it also gets passengers electrical seat adjustment. And xenons. ;-)

    BTW the Ford Mondeo is a nice car – and looks better than the Falcon too!

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    whats lane change assist???

    your inability to explain a feature you promote as making a better vehicle is hilarious

  • Arthur

    Best Ford ever, well done.

  • mike

    Car may have great straight speed, but it will get smashed on the track.

    Wheels did a recent test around the track witha number of car including the new turbo fords, rx8, m3, evo, gtr (obvious winner) etc

    New ford got beaten by an rx8! which is 0-100 in like 7 seconds, so straight line speed i not eveything

  • Joe

    Hey Mike, are you serious? Who in the hell is going to take their G6ET onto the track apart from doing some driver training. If you wanted to get serious you would use an FPV F6. In fact the F6 beat the Mazda RX8 in that Wheels handling test and the winner was the Porsche 911GT2.

  • Joe

    Here we go again CB. The Accord Euro @ $32,000 doesn’t get power passenger seat or even power drivers seat and it doesn’t get your beloved xenon headlamps either. You have to go to the Euro Luxury to get those features, but then why let to truth get in the way of a good story eh!.
    Maybe Car Advice should compare an Accord Euro Luxury to the BMW 335i and see how the Accord fares even with its $65,000 price advantage.

  • CB

    # Joe Says:
    October 19th, 2008 at 7:30 am
    “Here we go again CB. The Accord Euro @ $32,000 doesn’t get power passenger seat or even power drivers seat and it doesn’t get your beloved xenon headlamps either. You have to go to the Euro Luxury to get those features, but then why let to truth get in the way of a good story eh!.
    Maybe Car Advice should compare an Accord Euro Luxury to the BMW 335i and see how the Accord fares even with its $65,000 price advantage.”
    My mistake. But you only need to spend $40K to get those – still $15K less than the Falcon.

  • CB

    Andrew M Says:
    October 18th, 2008 at 8:53 pm
    “CB,
    whats lane change assist???
    your inability to explain a feature you promote as making a better vehicle is hilarious ”

    Actually what’s funny is the inability of many of you to let go…

    BTW, saw a G6ET in Perth yesterday – it was parked next to a Mazda 6. Made me realise the Falcon’s days are numbered.

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    everyone already knows you are a nob, no need to push the impression further.

    now whats lane change assist??
    whats wrong? didnt they explain it on the brochure you pulled the name off of?

    you carry on with your worthless opinions.
    you dog the falcon for not havng lane change assist, yet clearly dont know what it is.
    Then when you dissed the falcon for carry over switch gear, you were also unable to list the basics to back up your usual tool of a statement.

    If you are a nob and you know it, Clap your hands……

  • CB

    Clap, Clap

  • Team Vodafone Masters Of Endurance

    CB,,,,,,,, you are truly a brainwashed fool just like some of these Toymota fools crapping on how good their stupid fake sewing machine company is, get a grip on life and open your mind, by the way, this new Falcon is the best built car in Australia ever, spilling garbage on forums or blogs instead of actually driving any new Falcon has absolutly false connection with your blind opinions..

  • Al Juraj

    The Falcon seems well built already, but only time will tell how it will hold up on reliability. The previous models were never as good as the Japanese counterparts, but at least they’re better than any Commodore.

    I had a look at an XR6 in the showroom and the paint on the aircon vent has already been damaged, which the Germans will consider a worthwhile laugh. The dashboard isn’t as well thought out as an Accord either. But its biggest flaw is the fact that it looks almost the same as the previous model. Albeit handsome, it’s not as exciting as what the Orion CGIs suggested. While it’s hands-down better than what Holden has to offer, people may get turned off with too much similarity in design. Even I have to squint sometimes to tell an FG from its predecessor, but thankfully, the G6E’s chrome infested front can easily be distinguished from any BF.

  • jon

    Joe, Joe , Joe, be realistic you can`t truly believe that a Falcon can compete with the others in that test the only thing it has going for it is price and alot of people who buy these cars don`t give a toss about the price they have a taste for the quality products of the world, I admit they are pricey for the average person like me, thats why I buy them 2nd hand and a 2nd hand Euro [3yr old] still is better equipped and better built than a Falcon or Commodore do yourself a favour and get ur one eyed head out your backside and broaden you horizons you might just realise there is a whole world out there Joe not just Australia. BTW I own an RTV ute and happen to like it alot, but I don`t go around believing its the best car in the world because its built in Australia.For what its used for its perfect but its no quality product and I have owned a 2003 xr6 turbo ute and a mk2 ba xr6 turbo sedan and I have been in the latest they are ok but they do not compare with Audi`s BMW Merc or my 2001 VW, it left my Falcons for dead in quality so I talk from experience Joe not out of my backside.

    PS get a life.

  • Joe

    And here I thought that all of blinkered europhiles had had their say and up pops up Jon. Yeah, Jon knows how good a G6ET is, cause he has owned a couple of Falcon utes. It’s a bit like me saying that I know how good a VW Phaeton or Toureg is because I drive a Caddy van. I don’t think so.
    Jon, it must be frustrating to keep reading all these glowing articles about FG’s written by so called professional motor journalists especially as being the owner of a 7 year old VW you’re the real expert.
    Seriously, no one(including Ford)expects the G6ET to be a better car than a Merc E500, Jaguar XFV8 or similarly priced Euro or even Jap car,but to dismiss this car and rest ot the Australian Motor Industry so casually really shows your true colours.
    BTW in the last 30 years I’ve probably driven more cars than you’ve had hot breakfasts.

  • jon

    Jon, it must be frustrating to keep reading all these glowing articles about FG’s written by so called professional motor journalists especially as being the owner of a 7 year old VW you’re the real expert.
    Seriously, no one(including Ford)expects the G6ET to be a better car than a Merc E500, Jaguar XFV8 or similarly priced Euro or even Jap car,but to dismiss this car and rest ot the Australian Motor Industry so casually really shows your true colours.

    I`m no expert Joe but I`m smart enough to know that a 2nd hand Euro is a better car than any Aussie car and thats just plain to see, even Stevie Wonder could see that and he is blind. I`m not dismissing that the Falcon isn`t a bad effort but a bad effort doesn`t mean its a good car and you need your eyes checked I also owned an xr6 turbo sedan and that was given car of the year and it had rattles after 20,000kms just like most of the work cars, not to mention the back seat that carry`s the bits that fall off, actually I can`t think of one that doesn`t have something on the back seat.Oh and my true colour lies with what ever I believe is a good car, unlike your blue blood. Anyway soon enough the Falcon will be gone and we won`t be discussing it ever again and then there will be only 1 poorly built local car left.

    BTW in the last 30 years I’ve probably driven more cars than you’ve had hot breakfasts.

    Doesn`t make you an expert Joe just shows your age, your a Neanderthal,its about time you evolve.

  • BIG JIM

    The G6E Turbo also does 80-120kph in 2.95s, this puts it in the company of the worlds top supercars.

  • Joe

    Jon, the beauty of blogsites such as this, is that anyone can have their say, irrespective of their knowledge/experience of the matter being discussed. I don’t need to comment any further other than to say that if I am a neanderthal due to my 30 years experience with cars you definitely sound like a rank amateur, judging by your posts so far.
    BTW, are you saying that the Camry/Aurion is a well built aussie car?

  • jon

    Joe,well I`d definitely say the Camry/ Aurion is a better built car than the other 2, I wouldn`t say its superior in many ways to the others but I doubt you would have as many warranty complaints or unsatisfied customers as the others, look we could discuss this all day the bottom line is I have owned a few later model Falcons, 1 which Ford replaced so as far as being an amateur, I am on most things but not on Fords and I think that is how all this started Joe, my opinion is I`d never own another, even my current 1 has the same seat belt issues, the rattles after 20000 km`s and the same poor quality that my $44000 2003 ute and the $56000 2004 sedan I had and these cars were mean`t to be premium models, like I say if you start with s#it you can add as much glamour as you want but its still s#it. They are glorified Taxi`s and thats about it and if you want a list on what was wrong with my Falcons I`m happy to accomodate you but I doubt a so called experienced Ford man would want to know about the same I`d guess as your local Ford dealer.

  • CB

    Jon’s right on the money – purchase a 3 or 4 year old Euro and you’ll get great value for money in Australia. E.g. you can pick up a 2004 E60 530i with M-Sport package for LESS than a G6ET. Makes the Aussies look sad really.

    BTW the previous post by “CB” was not me – disappointing to see such childishness…

    Andrew M keeps going on about Lane Change Assist. It’s not just that Andrew – just to reiterate the BF/FG Falcon misses out on the following:

    - climate controlled seats
    - high end sound system
    - auto up/down on all four windows (ha ha ha…)
    - lane change assist
    - lane departure warning
    - adaptive headlights
    - xenon headlights (ha ha ha…)
    - tri-zone climate control
    - adaptive cruise control
    - full electric seats for front passenger (ha ha ha…)

    Frankly it’s an embarrassment the “world class” and “top of the range” Falcon misses out on some of the items above.

  • Joe

    The last couple of posts really do prove that you’re either a New Car Buyer or a Used Car Buyer.

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    the “embarrassment” lies with in your method of sticking your chest out about “lane change assist”, yet not even knowing what the hell it is.

    Wow!!!
    can you really pick up a few year old E60 530i with M-Sport package for LESS than a G6ET???
    I thought you said they held their value well/better??

    it doesnt matter what the make, a used car will always be better value than a new one.

    Now,
    Lane change assist???
    i just love to watch you squirm around such a simple question.
    you have shot the bullet with out even knowing what it was.

    now thats funnier than no electric seats for the passenger in the falcon ha ha ha ha ha ha

  • CB

    The E60 530i makes the FG Fairmont Ghia look tired and old.

    BTW Andrew M, you don’t work for Ford Australia do you? I mean I’d be frustrated too if even after tariff protection, luxury car taxes, years of fleet sales guarantees, and tax payer funded handouts the company still can’t survive…

  • Wheelnut

    Given the limited budget and resources etc Ford and Holden have to work with I think that they bboth do an excellent job in building practical reliable well built cars that are ideal for handling the unique environment and road conditions etc in Australia.

    I’d like to see BMW try to build a car from scratch for $1 billion… see how many safety devices like ABS ESP EBD TC SRS IRS BSA and other features like Cruise Control Power Window Trip Computer the car will have then

    I mean Jeremy Clarkson Loved the VX-R8 when he tested it against the 5 series

    You’ve got to remember the reason it takes a bit longer for features that were on a Euro car 5 years ago to appear on an Aussie car is because of the size of the market and the population. Europe is much bigger and therefore BMW can recover money spent on R&D of a model much quicker than Holden or Ford particularly considering BMWs are sold in more countries than Ford and Holden – not because they are inferior but the execs in Detroit have an inferiority complex and don’t want the world to see how crap their US built products are

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Endurance Experts

    CB >>>>> please stop smoking weed, obviously the effects have made an error in judgement, people like you bagging a great product is the reason jobs are going in Australia, go eat some humble pie and test drive a new Ford G6E Turbo.. hahahaha its most likely much better then what your driving now…

  • Spider

    Wheelnut Says:
    “I mean Jeremy Clarkson Loved the VX-R8 when he tested it against the 5 series”

    Didn’t Jeremy say he thought that it was moronic, and he wouldn’t have one?

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    lane change assist please????
    keep to the task at hand……..

    Im self employeed for the record.
    no matter what you say about the ford motor companys operations wont hurt me. you are just childish to try.

    I recently bought an FG for what it is. Not based on the good or poor fortunes that the manufacturer of it may be facing.
    i couldnt give a stuff about the price of eggs in china

    whats lane change assist????

  • CB

    I love this blog… :-)

    Wheelnut Says:
    October 22nd, 2008 at 9:11 pm
    “Given the limited budget and resources etc Ford and Holden have to work with I think that they bboth do an excellent job in building practical reliable well built cars that are ideal for handling the unique environment and road conditions etc in Australia.”

    You lost me at “reliable well built”. The only cars that handle Australia’s UNIQUE conditions are all Japanese made.

    “I’d like to see BMW try to build a car from scratch for $1 billion… see how many safety devices like ABS ESP EBD TC SRS IRS BSA and other features like Cruise Control Power Window Trip Computer the car will have then”

    It was a foolish decision on someone’s part for spending such a sum of money for what is essentially an operation that survives due to handouts and assistance. If Holden could actually survive on its own two feet without support from the USA and the Aussie tax payer I’d be impressed. Holden’s own boss said their operation would not be viable without US support.

    “You’ve got to remember the reason it takes a bit longer for features that were on a Euro car 5 years ago to appear on an Aussie car is because of the size of the market and the population. Europe is much bigger and therefore BMW can recover money spent on R&D of a model much quicker than Holden or Ford particularly considering BMWs are sold in more countries than Ford and Holden – not because they are inferior but the execs in Detroit have an inferiority complex and don’t want the world to see how crap their US built products are”

    Don’t blame the USA – you wouldn’t have your precious Holden and Ford without their support.

    Team Vodafone,,,,Endurance Experts Says:
    October 22nd, 2008 at 9:21 pm
    “CB >>>>> please stop smoking weed, obviously the effects have made an error in judgement, people like you bagging a great product is the reason jobs are going in Australia, go eat some humble pie and test drive a new Ford G6E Turbo.. hahahaha its most likely much better then what your driving now…”

    I’ll stick with my 335i Coupe thanks.

    Andrew M Says:
    October 22nd, 2008 at 10:37 pm
    “CB,
    lane change assist please????
    keep to the task at hand……..

    Im self employeed for the record.
    no matter what you say about the ford motor companys operations wont hurt me. you are just childish to try.

    I recently bought an FG for what it is. Not based on the good or poor fortunes that the manufacturer of it may be facing.
    i couldnt give a stuff about the price of eggs in china

    whats lane change assist????”

    It must really hurt you to know that there are so many cars both new and second hand that make the FG seem second rate. E.g. I could buy a beautiful 18 month old Audi S3 for less than the G6ET (check it out,it was reviewed on this very site).

    Awaiting further comments from the blind faithful…

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    you have been bent over.
    just admitt it.

    thats what really hurts you isnt it??

    i thought you said the Euros had good resale.
    whats this now….
    an 18 month Audi worth nothing??

    whats lane change assist by the way ha ha ha ha ha
    dont you hate trying to bluff people and getting found out?? ha ha ha ha ha

  • CB

    Gee, for $55K I could buy a BMW, or Lexus, or MB, or Audi, or even a Honda, or Mazda, or Volkswagen, or Subaru, or heaven forbid a Holden Calais V…

    But no, Andrew M would rather purchase the epitome of luxury motoring – the BF Fairmont Ghia twin the G6ET, complete with luxuries like halogen lights, six speaker sound system, power windows, and one power adjustable seat!! I guess it must hurt the pride that a German gearbox was used instead of the old “world class” Aussie 4 speeder, but we’ll overlook that small detail.

    BTW I read above Andrew M purchased an XR6. I wonder if it was in pink, orange or bright green…

  • FRUGAL_ONE

    CB -

    Ok you dont like it, thats clear and thats your choice.

    For mine i find it the best luxo expess sedan ever made in this country.

    Love how its so easyyyyyyy to get them tuned up for so little.

    Long live turbo motors!

    Cheers

    F-0

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    and lane change assist is????………

  • CB

    FRUGAL_ONE Says:
    October 24th, 2008 at 12:47 pm
    “CB -
    Ok you dont like it, thats clear and thats your choice.
    For mine i find it the best luxo expess sedan ever made in this country.
    Love how its so easyyyyyyy to get them tuned up for so little.
    Long live turbo motors!
    Cheers
    F-0″

    Actually F-O, it has the best drive train of an Aussie built car, and with a few extras and a bit of extra polish it would be quite superb in Oz in that price bracket.

    But yeah, for me Ford messed up the looks quite badly… and the cost cutting in various areas shows… shame.

    Long live turbo motors indeed – my 335i is prime for tuning but I couldn’t bear to touch it – current performance is fine for me.

  • Duck

    CB, and lane change assist is? (PLEASE EXPLAIN!!!!) ;)

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Endurance Experts

    CB, it must hurt really bad to type crap all the time,,,, ROGER THAT !!!!!! OVER AND OUT !!!!!!

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    and lane change assist is???

    and the carry over switch gear in the FG is???

    CB’s credability is ZERO

  • CB

    Plus the pinnacle of the Ford range also has a Satellite Navigation system operated by a remote control. Talk about cheap! Even the two year old Calais V has controls on the centre console.

    Just to reiterate, the “World Class” G6E Turbo has luxury features such as:

    - Halogen lights
    - Six speaker “Premium” sound system
    - Power windows and mirrors
    - One power adjustable seat
    - AND Satellite Navigation operated by a remote control

    I’m sure all those “Corporate” buyers Ford is seeking are impressed… nothing better than having a colleague sit in your car and wanting to adjust the seat, and you have to tell them to pull the lever up to move the seat backwards… and all this after you’ve told him you’re sitting in a “luxury” car. :-D

  • Realcars

    CB still going on about lane change assist?LOL

    Oh the shame of a passenger having to manually adjust their seat. Oh the shame!!!LOL

  • Andrew M

    CB,
    And lane change assist is????

    and the carry over switch gear in the FG is???

    CB’s credability is ZERO

  • Joe

    I can’t beleive that this blog is still going 2 weeks later. Obviously this dope CB just can’t or won’t let go will he. In response to his last blog:
    * halogen headlights- these have been universally praised
    by every tester as the best high beam
    on almost any car in Australia.
    * six speaker premium sound- seven speakers(subwoofer)
    actually with colour monitor,
    in dash 6 stack cd, full i-pod
    integration & 262 watts of
    power
    * power windows & mirrors- with auto down on drivers window
    memory & auto adjust
    * one power adjustable seat- with 3 position memory
    * sat nav with remote control- and Suna Traffic Channel.

    Obviously judging by CB’s nitpicking even he agree’s that for the price there is no better performance/luxury car available in Australia let alone the world.

    Now can we please move on and maybe compare these 2 German luxury pretenders BMW & Audi to the real German Luxury(and more recently-performance)cars, Mercedes.

  • Joe

    And at least Mercedes has good resale value unlike BMW & Audi.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Quote ” And at least Mercedes has good resale value unlike BMW & Audi. ”

    Give me a break,you ever spent $160,000 on a Merc ,within 12 months couldnt resell it for anything over a 100k ,thank god for tax deductions!

    Merc full of quality over BMW and Audi,pftttttttttt the CD player went back 3 times in the Merc we had !Old mans cars !

    Simply is the more you spend the more you lose !

    And Joe Im betting Ive driven as many cars as you too !

    Some people !Shakes head !

  • Wheelnut

    CB – I think you’ll find that Every car on the road has Lane Change Assist…. It’s called the steering wheel,,,, it also helps you go around corners too… been around for years

  • Andrew M

    Wheelnut,
    true stuff that.
    these fancy names get me confused sometimes.

    it also reminds me of a joke…….

    A man walks into a Bar with a Steering Wheel down his pants.
    The Bartender says to him “Hey mate, did you know you have a steering wheel down your pants?”
    The man answers “Yes, its driving me nuts”.
    …………………………………………

    and that one reminds me of another…..

    3 Guys walk into a Bar,
    surely one of them would have seen it.

    ah we all need a little humour dont we??
    we all cant be as tight and wound up in our own little worlds in the way CB is

  • AW

    Bavarian Missile: Slightly off topic, but knowing your love of BMs, my relatives in Victoria just traded their ’04 525i for a new 520d.

  • Joe

    Hey Bavarian Missile, I agree that the more you spend the more you lose. I also agree that the quality on Mercs isn’t as good as one would expect but that is also the case with BMW & Audi. The whole point of my last post was to put a bit of pressure on CB and get him thinking about the real competitors to his 335i and to try to end his inane G6ETurbo rants.
    Hopefully it worked.

  • Wheelnut

    Qoute [Andrew M]:these fancy names get me confused sometimes.

    I know Andrew; Companies often like to give their products an impressive name or anagram to make them appear better than the competition.

    The Hilux is a perfect example Toyota decided to create a category and call the Hilux an “Action Utility Vehicle” – Why? because to refer to the Hilux as just a “Ute” it would then be thought of in the same way as the Falcon and Commodore Utes… and Toyota want people to think that the Hilux is much better than that [just as they do]… yet there is no way the Hilux can be compared to let alone compete against the SS Maloo XR6 XR8 or Pursuit Utes

    If Toyota wanted to be realistic they would have called the Hilux a Pick-Up as its built on a sepperate rigid ladder type chassis whereas the Ford and Holden are sedan based Utes.. However; if Toyota did that the Hilux would then be compared to the legendary Ford F-series [which again is better than the Hilux]

  • http://faster DanMan

    ‘yet there is no way the Hilux can be compared to let alone compete against the SS Maloo XR6 XR8 or Pursuit Utes’

    Your right, the Hilux 4×4 sr5 is WAY better…

    Just one example from at least 6 i think of in ten seconds.. The three ‘utes’ you mentioned will drop 25k in the first year of ownership…. Plus the hilux will cost 150$ per service for 3 years against about 450$ average for the ‘utes’.

    I know that was 2 reasons but silly statements like that deserve the smackdown..

  • Wheelnut

    Hey Joe have you read the article on here which says your beloved Mercedes Benz [The one German marque you believe is the maker of real performance cars] could have BMW engines in their cars in the future ? If so what do you think about that… says something doesn’t it?

  • Wheelnut

    DanMan – A Maloo lose $25K in the first year.. if so can you tell e where I can buy either a $1,000 VU Maloo R8[10th Anniversary Edition] let alone a $25,000 VZ Maloo.. I’ve got more chance finding a $25,000 [TRD] Hilux

    As for your comment about the service of a SR5 Hiliux costing $150 and the service on a XR8 costing $450..
    I don’t know which dodgy mechanic you go to but most factory/dealership services not to mention places like Ultra Tune charge at least $90-100 plus parts and labour [that's even before they've popped the bonnet]..
    Yet given that most people get their car serviced at least twice a year means that services on a Hilux are $75 – what the hell do they do to it for that price

    Oh and as the SR5 is a 4WD it would easily require more work than the SS/XR8 as there’s a transfer case and 2 diffs etc.. And don’t forget the availability of parts also has an effect on the price

    Plus a friend of mine owns a F-Series V8 Diesel Crew Cab Pick Up whilst her hubby has a Diesel Prado.. both of them are a couple of years old and do the same number of Kms each year and it actually costs more to service the Prado.. go figure!

  • Bret

    Wheelnut,
    DanMan is refering to the “fixed price servicing” short term promotion that Toyota is using to bluff the sheep into believing that Toyotas are the cheapest to service and maintain, when the reality is, after the promotion is over, is the horrific service costs for these bland a-b mobiles.

  • http://faster DanMan

    Hmmm hard to argue with the 2 experts above, you both have so much industryy experience and like me have obviously bought and sold thousands of cars to thousands of people.

    You both, like me, work 6 days a week with cars and car buyers, helping non enthusiast customers get the best car that suits their needs and wants..

    You also spend alot of unpaid time doing the necessary training course’s (here and overseas) to stay up to date in a fast moving industry..

    You both drive a different car home every day to better understand the differences between brands and ‘know there because you go there’

    Right, RIGHT?

  • http://faster DanMan

    So to sound really arrogant, like you both.. the old line applies,

    ‘I have forgotten more about all things relating to cars than you both will ever know’

    Wish i could upload the 88 megs of photo’s of different cars in my driveway…. Here and in LA.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Dan Man your a car salesman how does that make you an expert,been to many a car show and found salesman dont know as much as I do ……….get over yourself !

  • http://faster DanMan

    Oh another country heard from…

    Well lets see i talk to a wide of people across all socio-economic and geo-political boundries and they trust me enough about what i prove to them i know, to spend, in some case’s hundreds of thousands of dollars..

    2nd generation in the Car indusry after my Father worked for Jaguar in Sydney and Brisbane (Browns lane too!)for thirty years..

    Brother in Law owns 2 KTM bike dealerships with my Sister in LA.

    If i was a doctor, you would trust me to perform surgery!

  • Bavarian Missile

    Self praise is no recommendation !

  • Bret

    DanMan,
    I don’t understand the dig at me. All I clarified was your reference to the service costs.

    And what I said IS correct.

    Outside of Toyota’s short term promotion, once they have convinced enough of the sheep, servicing of Toyotas is just as or more expensive than the rest FACT (learn’t that one from Dingo, if you type it in capitals it is true).

  • Bret

    And BTW those who design and engineer things usaully understand them better than those who JUST sell them.
    Back in your box.

  • http://faster DanMan

    Oh i could get a degree if i wanted to but dont want the pay cut. LOL

    Also Blog on Jalopnik, Truth about cars, EVO UK. Dont worry other people know more about other subjects, but with cars i have as Charlie Sheen says, a Knack!

    Have submitted a few WIKI pages about manafacturers..

    Anyway dont need really to impress anyone on this site. Their ignorance is my bliss!

  • Bret

    Just to claify then:

    Toyota’s servicing costs ARE expensive if you’re outside of their short term fixed price servicing!

    YES!

  • http://faster DanMan

    Ummm 3 years is not short term.. maybe your attention span is..

    It depends on the vehicle but using a ‘complex’ turbo diesel as a guide the first 6 services are capped at 150$ per service. (hilux 4×4) Toyota motor company pays the difference, not the customer or the dealer.

    you probably save about 1300$ over 3 years this way. Also it’s not a promo. It doesn’t end.

    It also ensures the resale value is proteced because all toyotas now have full log book genuine servicing for three years.

    BTW a 70k service is about 600$ not bad.

    Think i will go fix the Large Haldron Collider for a challenge….

  • Wheelknut

    Danman – you really expect us to believe that those who have gone to university/college; studied engineering or graphic design etc.. and now use either state of the art computers to design or high tech machinery to build cars etc earn less than a humble car salesman in suburban Sydney or Melbourne?

    As for 3 years not being a short term…. it is when you consider it takes on average 6-8 years for a car to go from design through to production and that the average age of a car on Australian roads is approx 7 years old – mainly due to the number of old [10 years+]Holdens and Fords still going around today

  • http://faster DanMan

    Actually In Brisbane, and you spelt your Name wrong.. ahem.

    Well when you dont pay for fuel and basically drive most cars you love for free that saves alot over 4 or 5 years!

    I have travelled about 30k klm’s per year and paid about 35 $ in fuel. sucks to be me.

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Enduro Experts

    Well good for you DM, I’ve average about 40,000km’s a year and the car is not even mine, talk about saving dollars and its not a Toy-oda thank GOD if it was my life would’ve ended up very boring, yep a good old 2007 Ford Focus runs rings round overrated ugly corolla and also Ford’s car service is much cheaper than dodgy Toy-leta..

  • Spider

    TVEE, Too bad your mums focus is in no way as good looking as the current Toyota Corolla, or the Yaris hatch! ;-)

  • http://faster DanMan

    TVEE.

    Your proof that hero7n is a helluva drug!

    I meen seriously why do you bother commentating. your the worst poster on this site.. I have arguments with some other people here but i still respect them as people. but you are so not worthy . you sound about 14-15. IMO. your sentence structure and syntax are extremley underdevoped so i find you having a job with that car packadge Unlikely.

    Please understand that people make very conservitive choice when spending a years salary on a car. minimisation of risk. Toyota’s are not a ‘drivers’ car but 23% market share means that not all (very few in fact) care about driving at 8/10th, even 6/10ths. They TRUST Toyota, and with good reason.

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Enduro Experts

    Hey DM,,, please spell properly, I struggle to read all your garbage.

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Enduro Experts

    Toyo is a discount fleet seller.

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Enduro Experts

    The Ford Focus drives and looks much better than any Toyoda >>>>>>>> piece of junk..

  • Team Vodafone,,,,Enduro Experts

    DM please go to Drive.com, Dingo is waiting, he needs some toyophile support, go now loser have another puff of that crack pipe.

    All the comment’s you have posted are nonsense, no one needs a fruitcake with an IQ of about 9 + brainwashed Toyo jargon.

  • Wheelnut

    Yeah; Dingo is on drive/com.au getting his diluded ignorant narrow-minded a-r-s-e kicked [surprise surprise] by my “Drive” mates Seats and a Steering Wheel and Bones

    As always he is on the offensive.. He repeats the same story over and over and over again and he also misreads peoples comments and therefore doesn’t get the full story [just as he does/did on here]

    And when he realises he is losing an arguement he either tries to change topic or uses one of his aliases [spit personalities] to back up one of his previous statements…. yet he has the nerve to call other bloggers pathetic and immature.

  • Andrew M

    Wheelnut,
    I am in the right mind to report your previous post!!!

    How dare you mention the name Dingo on here.

    ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

    yeah, what a W*nk hey.

  • Bavarian Missile

    Hey Matt where is the story on that blue F6 Ute your showing pics of on Facebook babe ! N…I…C…E !!

  • Andrew M

    you must have missed it.

    the Deni muster story

  • http://www.caradvice.com.au Matt

    Coming soon BM ; )

  • Bret

    DanMan Says:
    October 28th, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    “It depends on the vehicle but using a ‘complex’ turbo diesel as a guide the first 6 services are capped at 150$ per service. (hilux 4×4) Toyota motor company pays the difference, not the customer or the dealer.
    you probably save about 1300$ over 3 years this way. Also it’s not a promo. It doesn’t end.”

    Toyota are overcharging $1300 (at least) for a start to cover this!
    And just because there is no published end date doesn’t mean it’s not just a short term promotion – it is, and we all know it, despite your corporate speil.

    “It also ensures the resale value is proteced because all toyotas now have full log book genuine servicing for three years.”

    Errrr, no it doesn’t. Nearly 3/4 of all toyotas sold are fleet, to which this fixed priced servicing does not apply. The poor unfortunates who buy the second hand fleet cars will be slugged the full price, with probably a massive first up service bill to catch up with all the skipped fleet services.

    At least when Ford did similar (better actually) a few years ago it applied to all cars, including fleets, and transferred to a new owner when sold.

  • http://faster DanMan

    Yeah your the expert Bret. Like me you obviously do this every day and know the industry back to front. Only Govt Fleet is exempt….

    All ford ‘incentives’ will cease under Bankruptcy. Pricewaterhousecoopers will void them straight away. So why do Toyota’s have the best Resale average after porsche in the industry? Riddle me that bretman.

    Because Toyota have a 50 year record in this country of promise’s made and kept.

    Also Toyota workshops have are not dependent on warranty work to survive so are more competitve than you believe. there are 15 in Brisbane greater area alone. each with a PMA that ensures they can look after their customers.

    Anyway why try to convince you? 260,000 a year disagree with you..

  • Bret

    DanMan,
    No your the “expert”. You tell everybody every day on here.

    Obviously you know, and the guys who run Toyota and their website are wrong. What about Toyota’s massive rental fleet sales? Still, it only proves that it IS just a short term public propaganda exercise.

    Toyota Australia’s history is littered with failures and broken promises, who are you trying to kid?

    Or is this just yet another case of a Toyota salesman who doesn’t know as much as he thinks he does, spinning bulldust?

    (The more apt reply is still “awaiting moderation”)

  • Ash

    Just got the g6e for the wife who was hell bent on a Volvo or somthing else around the 75-85k mark.
    This thing on the road and with all its features is simply BEAUTIFUL!!!!
    ps. and we were both Holden people through and through..

  • David

    I picked up my new G6E Turbo last week and frankly, I cannot stop driving it! I am in love with this car…fantastic! Why on earth would you bother with an expensive European car when we make such a masterpiece in this country. Well done Ford!

  • Bill

    The ford’s have lane change assist,
    Just had to throw that in

  • Gwalton

    Ford g6e turbo that iv been driving for a good eight months now would have to be the most out standing car to drive lots of power in fact unbelivable power and not to mention unbelivable comfort and safty thank you ford for making my dreams come true god bless.GT.  

LATEST REVIEWS